Geeks logo

From Page to Handcrafted

Crafting

By Katie BruckmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Believe it or not, I have lived 1,000 different lives. I have been Persephone, trapped in the underworld with Hades. I have been Poppy, trying to escape a life of imprisonment as the Maiden. I have even been a high fae ruling a kingdom of dreams. Every time I open the new pages of a book I become a new person. I feel their joy, their sorrows, and understand their dreams. These are the feelings I love to bring to life for the others who share my sense of adventure.

I have dipped my hands into various types of crafting, but no matter the art form, I find that my love for reading has been brought to life in all of them. Bringing these stories to the real world can help people feel more connected to them. These items also help to find people who share the same interests. Sometimes, those people become friends.

Starting a new job is daunting for some people. I took on that endeavor recently and found that one of my crafts managed to make me a new friend. I created a decal for my rear window that read “To the stars that listen” laid out over a mountain outline, referencing the Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Little did I know that was enough for one of my new co-workers to track me down and we became instant friends. She had read the same book series and had fallen head of heels in love with the story as I had. This is one of the many ways that book crafts can help readers connect with other readers.

I have also dabbled in jewelry making using resin. With this I am able to bring to life my favorite quotes which become more than just jewelry. Sometimes seeing the quote gives me a chuckle which brightens my day. Occasionally the quotes get me through the day reminding me “don’t let the hard days win.” No matter which situation it is, I know it brings a small piece of joy to my life. These pieces of jewelry also help others with customizing their look. They might want something that is going to be a stand out piece or maybe they want something that is going to start a conversation.

Another type of crafting I enjoy is paper cut art. This type of art has become easier with the use of Cricut machines, but the feeling they bring when people see them has not changed. Paper cut art is one of my favorite kind of crafts to give as gifts. They can be personalized for everyone and for every occasion. The designs, colors, and even the depth of the project can be different for every single one that is made. I have used this paper cut art to make various gifts: a shadow box or a personalized lamp for friends’ nurseries, a video game character for my brother for Christmas, and of course, quotes from my favorite books. There are so many choices!

What it comes down to, is I truly love to create. I love seeing the looks on people’s faces when you’ve gifted them with something personalized just for them. At some point in my life I hope to have the funds to start up my own craft business, to connect to people who love the same things I do. I just recently discovered this community and have decided to put my writing out there. Does it terrify me? Absolutely. Was it time for me to stop living in fear of being constantly judged? Also absolutely. Whether it is writing, a new type of craft, or a new book, I have decided to stop saying, “Maybe tomorrow,” and have started saying, “I’m going to do that.” If it doesn’t work out, I’ll dust myself off and try again, or I’ll move on to the next thing. The only thing I can say for certain is I’m tired of waiting for tomorrow.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.