Geeks logo

Forever My Girl - A Movie Review

'Forever My Girl' is a love story but not your typical romance film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
4

Sometimes you have to let go and walk on the wild side.

Forever My Girl is a 2018 film based on the novel by Heidi McLaughlin. Liam abandons his wedding to Josie out of fear. A decade later, Liam returns to his hometown where he reunites with his ex-fiance who lets him in on a secret.

Forever My Girl is a love story but not your typical romance film. It didn’t take the sappy route which is what I thought. I have been waiting a while to watch this film and I finally had the chance to see it. Forever My Girl is a heartwarming film that talks about change.

Jessica Rothe is well-known for her remarkable performance as Tree in Happy Death Day. I couldn’t believe I was watching the same person! That’s acting for you. Rothe is incredible. Though occasionally slipping in her Southern accent, Rothe skillfully conveys the pain, anger, and eventual forgiveness that define Josie's journey.

I had mixed opinions about Alex Roe’s performance because he was flat in some of his deliveries. Liam has not made the best decisions but he wants to be better. Liam stays true to his heart while going a bit far in forgiveness. I laughed when he bought a gigantic teddy bear.

Abby Ryder Fortson is a talented child actress. I just saw her in Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret as the protagonist. After seeing her performance here, Ryder is a fantastic actress! I cannot wait to see what else she does. Billy is both precious and snarky. Fortsen was tremendous in the role.

The best supporting character award goes to Liam’s agent, Sam (Peter Cambor). I like how the actor played the role and he exhibited a positive example about agents. More credits include Travis Tritt, Gillian Vigman, Judith Hoag, Tyler Riggs, and John Benjamin Hickey.

The small town of Saint Augustine, Louisiana plays as its own character. Your hometown is so important. As much as you want to escape it holds the best memories and the first friends you made.

Bethany Ashton Wolf enforced a different take on life on Forever My Girl. I didn’t think the film would be about Liam’s relationship with his daughter. It gives the story more depth, adding a new testament about love. The screenplay balances moments of heartache with humor, creating a narrative that resonates with audiences on an emotional level.

The film is predictable at times and some of the characters are flanderized. The pacing occasionally stumbles in the runtime. It follows similar tropes of a rom-com but adds more to the premise. Forever My Girl is a sincere film. One of the sweetest scenes is Liam and Billy playing the guitar together. The trio regrows the bond and gets to know each other.

Forever My Girl makes a good point about the music industry. Don’t let stardom get the better of you. Keep writing songs that hold meaning. The film's country music soundtrack adds an extra layer of authenticity to the story and reflects the film's themes of love and second chances.

Only you can change you. Forgiveness is the main theme in Forever My Girl. It may take time but learn to forgive someone. Change doesn’t happen in a snap. Holding grudges against someone is not healthy. Learn to talk things out in a suitable way.

Take a look at Forever My Girl streaming on Netflix. The film succeeds at delivering a satisfying experience for all audiences. It’s a good romantic comedy if you are looking for something new to watch.

reviewpop culturemovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities
4

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author4 months ago

    This is a great review. Looking forward to watching this movie.

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Thanks for the review. This is on my list now!

  • Oh I loved her from Happy Death Day! Also, now I'm so curious to know what's the secret she let him in on. Gotta watch this movie!

  • Test4 months ago

    Sounds like an interesting read. Thanks for your review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.