Geeks logo

Five Day TV Challenge: A Supernatural Binge

'Supernatural' has become my consistent go-to show and I try to stay as current as I possibly can on it.

By Matthew BaileyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
1

I'm not usually the type to take an overwhelming amount of time watching every episode from a show, normally I'll take a couple hours here and there and catch up on Netflix or buy a season on DVD. Binging on TV isn't something that I can normally do after you get married and have kids; your time tends to be stretched much thinner at that point, so in the last 5 years I've always been playing catch-up on many shows. Sometimes I'm even a couple seasons behind of shows, Doctor Who being a prime example. I started watching Christopher Eccleston portraying the Doctor while Matt Smith was the current Doctor. So a normal 'binge' of a show tends to be dependent on how long my 3 year old son happens to nap.

Yet, about 6 years ago I was able to binge watch nearly 3 seasons of a show that I had heard about but at the time didn't have the tv channel to actually watch it. I found a great deal and snatched up the first 3 seasons of Supernatural for less than $50. I bought them, and had all intentions of watching them but it wasn't until a couple months later that I actually started watching them. I had just returned from a mission trip and I got really sick. Like really, really sick. Sick to the point that I laid in bed for 4 days and either slept or watched you guessed it: Supernatural.

I had my best friend come over and help me move my dvd player from across the room to right next to my couch (where I was sleeping). I then began my descent into the abyss of Supernatural fanaticism. I spent those 4 days watching every episode from all 3 seasons, then I repeated the process.

Although I felt like hell, I was in heaven after the first episode.

Going into Supernatural, I really didn't know much about it and at the time it was a real jump in genre for me. I don't do 'scary' or 'horror' but from what I had heard from my friends it was something that I needed to at least try: so I joined the Winchester brothers in the first episode and I was hooked.

Supernatural has become my consistent go-to show and I try to stay as current as I possibly can on it even though I rely on streaming the episodes online since CW is not available in my area. If you haven't ever watched it, then I suggest you go on a 10 season binge as Season 11 begins in October. There are 5 reasons why I love Supernatural and why you should, too.

The Cast

The show revolves around two brothers: Sam & Dean Winchester. The brothers were raised by their father, John, to hunt and kill the things that go "bump in the night" after John's wife was murdered by a demon. Supernatural starts 22 years later as the brothers start out on a journey to ultimately find their missing father. The brothers portrayed by Jared Padalecki & Jensen Ackles have been the foundation of Supernatural and the main reason for the shows success.

The Lore

For the last 10 seasons we've been introduced to vampires, ghosts, ghouls, werewolves, shapeshifters, wraiths, reapers, angels, demons, the devil, God and many other cultural deities. Through it all, the brothers have faced these creatures and spirits with knowledge of the lore itself and special weapons designed to rid the world of them.

The Comic Relief

Even though Supernatural is a drama with horror elements there are often many brilliant manifestations of comedy laced through the episodes that it doesn't seem like you're watching a show built around terror and death. The brothers are immensely funny and their interactions with each other and the rest of the cast is quite often one of the most redeeming facets of the show itself.

The Music

I grew up with classic rock. Kansas, Journey, Foreigner and Styx. During the "The Road So far" portion at the beginning of several episodes where we are reminded of the character and story progression through the current and previous season we are often given music from AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Metallica and even Kansas. So it invokes additional emotions from me for the sole fact that I grew up listening to it. That and the fact that this music so deftly matches the personality of both Sam & Dean it just fits perfectly with the orchestral spikes throughout the actual episodes - it just all stimulates quite unique emotions and the overall experience.

The Writing

12 seasons, 44 credited writers over the years and yet the show retains its overall dramatic feel. The styles of writing hasn't affected the characters and as a cohesive element the various episodes written by different people hasn't left us wondering what happened there? - Throughout the entire series we still know who our characters are and how it all intertwines.

tv
1

About the Creator

Matthew Bailey

Husband. Father. Gamer. Cinema Lover. Mix it all together, and there I am. I love all things pop-culture and coffee; but coffee is the best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.