Geeks logo

Finding a New Home

The Future of the MCU's Peter Parker

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

An MCU movie releases and the rumours fly! We’ve heard two major things, 1) Tom is signed on for 3 more movies and immediately after that we heard 2) That Tom was stepping away from the role and taking a break. Now the more likely option is that he is in fact signed on for more movies, there is so much more that I would love to see from Tom’s spiderman and I think that No Way Home set him up perfectly for not only more character development but also bringing in more of the Spider-verse characters into the MCU. Tom has been pushing hard for either some of the Spider woman and/or Miles Morales, here's hoping that we see both!

Now that my dear Peter Parker has been erased from everyone’s memories and he is now alone, he has a fresh start and so do the writers. They have given themselves the opportunity to take his character wherever they want. Though they have many options, I as a comic book fan have some specific needs I would love for them to fill so here we go.

I’ve always loved Spider-Gwen and she will always be my favorite Spiderverse character and I can think of at least 3 easy ways to intro her into the MCU but really I just need some Spider Women, the Spider verse is actually really rich for female characters and I think it's about time we tap into that, the perfect Peter Parker, aka Tom Holland would agree that it's time to open up the Spider Verse a bit and give us new stories with new characters. Plus I think seeing Tom interact on screen with Spider-girl, Spider Woman, Silver Sable, Spider-Gwen or Silk would be absolutely incredible. We have already seen him be in awe of powerful women and I think that the best way to introduce any of these fantastic women would be for Tom’s spiderman to be excited about her first.

The first real thing I’d like to see is Spiderman and Deadpool! Look I know that Tom’s Spidey is still super young but I’ve wanted to see these storylines jump off the page since their team up comic came out and I think Ryan Renyolds and Tom Holland would work off of each other brilliantly. The pair have several different storylines together but more recently they’ve had their own comic arcs together that I think would be great to at least bring elements from onto screen. Marvel would definitely have to loosen their normal ratings a bit as we know Ryan Renyolds won’t do anything less than rated R. The reason these 2 would be so perfect is mostly because they are both such champions for their characters and people who fight so hard for the integrity of their characters deserve to be seen on screen together.

Now I don’t think that we are done with Ned or MJ in the MCU and as much as I love the dynamic between those 3 characters I would love to see some fresh blood brought into the universe. I also really hope they don't just drop the fact that Ned can apparently use the sling ring, for those of you who are casual viewers it's not a device anyone can just use with talent and practice and to see Ned and Doctor Strange or Ned and Wong connect in the future of the MCU would be amazing and a great way to change up how his character is used. I don’t want to say goodbye to Zendaya’s MJ because I love the two of them in real life but unless they are going to turn her super, I think the time of MJ is over and we should make room for other super women who might play the romantic lead in Peter’s life.

comicsentertainmentmoviepop culturesuperheroes
1

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.