Geeks logo

Fearless 6

The Making of a Hero

By Ada ZubaPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Canva.com

Black Storm stood in front of me. I was unfamiliar with Black Storm because he had no comic books about him, but he was roughly my height, maybe a little taller he wore a black mask that covered most of his face, and he had dark black hair to go with the mask. I could see Black Storm's ice blue eyes peeking through the holes of the mask. He wore slender boots up to his knees, but they had buckled them up, but they looked light when he walked. He wore black spandex with accents of baby blue, making his eyes pop. He had black biker gloves that fitted perfectly to his hands. He wore a black chin guard, on anyone else it would have looked stupid, but on Black Storm it made him look menacing.

"So you are the one I'm training," he said in a low husky voice, but he smiled, and it came off as creepy.

"Yup, that's me," I said.

"Your sisters are doing well, and I expect the same from you, Trevor our I.T guy tells me you are excellent with reading minds," he said.

"I guess," I said.

"Okay, well let's go to the training rink and see what you can do."

He led me down the curving halls of the Justice League building until we got to a set of two doors. He held out a key card and swiped it the doors slide open. The room was a gym there was nothing in it until we came to another critical card reader and he swiped it, and a wall slide open revealing many spandex suits.

"What's your size? Maybe a 14?" He asked himself, and he picked up an ugly unattractive orange spandex suit and handed it to me.

"Put this on," he instructed.

"Why?" I asked.

"The material is flexible, it's good for training I know it looks ugly, but trust me, you will want to move, and it absorbs your sweat," he explained, and I found the girls locker room and changed. I got out and Black Storm threw a ball at me that came out of nowhere. I ducked quickly.

"Lesson one, never have your guard down," he said, and I threw the ball back at him, and he lunged it at me, and he got me in the stomach. I gasped for air, and I could see him smiling.

"What was lesson number one?" he asked me as he bent down over me.

"Never let your guard down," I said wheezing.

"Great," he said, and he elbowed me in the back as I tried to get up.

"Lesson two, expect that everyone wants to kill you," he said, and this time he helped me up. "Now you've already learned two things apply them," he said, and he held out the ball for me. I thought it was going to be a trick so I put my hand under his and another on top and swiped the ball from him and threw it towards his face, but he saw the attack coming and caught it one-handed in front of him.

"Taking the ball from me is going to be your first task and once you got the ball you can go home," he said.

"Okay, simple enough," I agreed, and he ran with it. I ran after him, but he was quick. I was not going to catch him since he was much faster than me. I had to find another way. I stood in the center as I thought and he lunged the ball at me and ducked underneath me and caught it in his other hand as I fell to the floor. I grabbed his leg, and he kicked my arm.

"Ow," I said.

"Lesson three, being superhuman hurts," he yelled as he ran.

Superhuman, that was the answer, I had to find a way to get into his brain. I had to know what his next move was. He was moving too fast for me to concentrate on his mind. I closed my eyes and listened. I heard a muffled noise and a whoosh a slight wind was coming towards me. I ducked just in time. The ball would have hit my face.

"Good, you are learning," he said, and his voice sounded amused by the fact that a dodged a ball with my eyes closed.

Maybe he wanted me to treat him like an enemy? I ran at him, with full speed and tackled him to the ground he still held onto the ball. I got him on the floor, and I went for his wrist and bit him, there was no reaction from him, he just rolled over, and it all happened so fast that now he had me pinned to the ground, I viciously kicked him, but he held on even stronger than before. I looked into his eyes, and then I heard him think.

She's going to have to learn this, the stronger she kicks, the stronger I will hold on.

I stopped moving, and I had no choice but to use my head literally and I head-butted him. It hurt my head, but he was not expecting it, and he lost control of the ball, and I quickly swiped it from the floor and held it in my hand.

"Finally, that took longer than expected, you might need more training than your sisters do," and with that, he got up and brushed himself off and without another word went for the locker rooms. I stood there. I glanced at the clock in the gym, and it took me 45 minutes to get the ball from him. I was shocked that's how long it took. I changed out of the orange suit and took a shower. I changed into my regular clothes and left the gym he was out there waiting for me.

"That was good progress, tomorrow will be even tougher," he said, "Anyways, I have to go fill out paperwork I will see you tomorrow," and he winked at me.

What was that supposed to mean? Was I that bad? I did manage to read his mind wasn't that the point of it all? I then headed home with those thoughts swirling in my head. My sisters were better than me, but I was not surprised, but why would he say that? Black Storm was insensitive to others. I would have to impress him and to impress I needed to think ahead.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.