Geeks logo

Favourite Unova Pokemon

From each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Generation 5 of Pokémon seems to have split most fans. Some people love it for it's story, change of scenery and a fresh lineup of Pokémon that didn't include ones from a previous generation until the sequels. I've seen people complain that the designs from the fifth generation isn't as food as the previous ones and that Gamefreak have lost their ideas, but I disagree. Some of the designs from the first generation are in particularly disturbing like the Golbat with the long tongue. Johto is my favourite generation because I love how it ties to the first generation and I love the mixture of adorable and powerful designs.

Black and White had some interesting designs and also did some mix up with the types. Before Unova, all the regions we're inspired by actual parts of Japan. This time they've expanded the pokémon universe, which I think is nice. A lot of Unova places are inspired by New York and Manhattan.

Grass - Lilligant

She is an amazing best type. I think she’s adorable and one of the best grass Pokémon about. Her stats and move pool are interesting and Inlove how her arms and hair are leaves and that her crown is a big flower.

Fire - Chandlelure

Chandlelure looks like he belongs in a haunted mansion covered in books and a spiral staircase. Which is funny because Shauntal, one of the Elite Four members has one and her arena looks exactly like that.

Water - Oshawott

I always loved the water type starters and Oshawott is no exception. I think he’s cute and fun especially with that seashell of his that he carries around.

Normal - Audino

Audino is Unova’s answer to Chansey being the local nurse pokèmon. Being a care worker, I have a special connection with this one. I like her and I’m surprised she was the only one to get a mega-evolution from this generation.

Electric - Joltik

I love Joltik because he’s cute and looks so friendly. I love the yellow and the dark blue because I think the color combination works well. The simple design works really well.

Psychic - Munna

I remember a trainer in the first generation saying they wanted a Pokémon just like Munna. I hope that trainer is happy now. I think Munna is cute.

Fighting - Virizion

I like the colour scheme and how regal he looks. Reminds me of one of the three musketeers, which I think is where they got the inspiration from.

Rock - Dwebble

He just looks cute with his big round eyes.

Ground - Excadrill

It is savage but it’s sprite makes it look like it wants to say: “COME GIVE ME A HUG!”

Flying - Woobat

She is quirky and adorable. I love how derpy and fluffy she looks.

Bug - Volcarona

Unova’s first champion, Alder has one on his team. It’s quite a unique typing and I like how strong and frail it looks.

Poison - Trubbish

I think he‘s really cute, even if he is literally a bag of trash. I like the word merge of trash and rubbish because it makes me think of the alleyways of New York City.

Dark - Hydreigon

Unova brough some cool dragons into the equation and this one looks menacing. I love how villainous he looks. Its a shame he got overshadowed by its big fairy weakness in later generations.

Ghost - Litwick

The Litwick line are my favourite family from this generation. I like how they're candles and the typing of fire and ghost. Litwick reminds me Lumiere from Beauty and the Beast so much. He’s a little cutie.

Ice - Vanillite

This pokémon is so cute. I love that it's based as an once cream. I have a shiny one called Strawberry and I love that it's pink. It's hard not to love it.

Steel - Cobalion

As part of the Swords of Justice foursome, I think it's dual typing of steel and fighting is very appropriate. Cobalion reminds me of Athos from The Three Musketeers.

Dragon - Haxorus

I became attached to Haxorus when I bought me and my boyfriend at the time matching Axew plushies. It inspired me to raise one myself and it became a pretty cool Haxorus. A part of me things it should be bug as well because it does remind me of a bug.

Fairy - Whimsicott

I chosen to use this pokémon on a whim. I was really surprised when Game Freak added the fairy typing to it, but I've always loved it as a grass type because of its pranker ability that makes it a good choice to set up some status moves. It's cute and mischievous.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.