Geeks logo

Favourite Sinnoh Pokemon

from each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I’ve been picking my favourite pokemon from each type from each generation. As we venture into other regions, it is starting to get harder to pick. I always thought a lack of choice was just a gen 1 issue, but as less pokemon get added, it’s surprising to see just how common certain types are. I feel like Sinnoh was one of the more popular regions. Everyone went mad for Garchomp, and celebrated new members of the Eevee family. Migrating from the GameBoy Advance to the DS was a thing, so people could send their beloved Pokemon from the past back into action. Ten years has gone fast. Feels like only yesterday that Diamon, Platninum and Pearl came out.

Grass - Cherrim

I like the concept of it’s overcast and sunshine form. The former has Cherrim veiled in purple and she looks like a little bell. It’s sunshine form is lovely and I think it’s a shame that it can’t stay in its sunshine form all the time. It stats leave a little to be desired, which leaves things open for another evolution or another form.

Fire - Chimchar

I remember Paul’s Chimchar in the anime serving the same purpose as Damien’s Charmander in the anime. I think Chimchar is a cute Pokémon and deserves lots of love. I chose him on my first playthrough of Pearl, and he was pretty good, especially as Infernape.

Water - Piplup

Piplup was the one I picked on my first playthrough of Diamond. Just as I was close to losing to Cynthia, Empoleon saved the day for me. Piplup is adorable and I love penguins in general.

Normal - Staraptor

Staraptor reminds me of Simon Blackquill, one of my favourite characters outside of the original Ace Attorney Trilogy. I had a Staraptor named Blackquill on my Ace Attorney themed team on gen 6. Thanks to Choice Band, STAB Brave Bird, Max attack and speed it destroyed many opponents as long as they were slower and weren’t rock/steel.

Electric - Luxray

I like the entire Shinx line and I think Luxray looks really regal and I think it’s fitting how it’s shiny form is gold. He really looks like an underdog and that’s why he’s one of the best loved Pokémon in Sinnoh.

Psychic - Cresselia

I really like how she’s shaped as a moon and think the yellow, light pink and pale blue colour combo work really well. Even though I think Sinnoh overdid it with the legendary Pokémon, I think Cresselia looks beautiful.

Fighting - Gallade

Letting Wally have one in Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire was a great choice by Game Freak. I think it’s a great design and a great male counterpart to Gardevoir.

Rock - Rampardos

Rampardos wins me over with his Mold Breaker ability. Not even a hacked Spiritomb or Sableye with Wonder Gaurd is gonna stop him. I have memories of getting a Rampardos on the GTS with the nickname Boner.

Ground - Garchomp

Garchomp is king. The local champion, Cynthia has one on her team. It’s been in OU and Uber for years and even though it’s not available in any Gen 8 games yet, it’s going to cause a riot when it does.

Flying - Drifloon

How can I not love it? I think it’s so cute and adorable. Fantina, my favourite gym leader has a dress based on its design.

Bug - Vespiquen

Even though her typing is common, she has some very unique moves. She has an interesting concept that only female combee can evolve and they are very rare in the wild. I remember trading for my first female combee and then after that I kept breeding till I got one. Vespiquen

Poison - Roserade

Roserade is most likely the strongest grass type in this generation. Her typing is common, but her design is amazing. I love how her arms are a bouquet of flowers.

Dark - Spiritomb

At the time, this was a Pokémon with no weaknesses and had great stats. Cynthia, the champion starts with one and it can be very unpredictable.

Ghost - Mismagius

I always loved Misdrevous, and I love Mismagius just as much. She’s a lot scarier than Misdrevous and I had her in of my Soul Silver team and she did an amazing job.

Ice - Glaceon

I loved that Eevee got two new evolutions and liked how Glaceon and Leafeon evolve in different places. I like Glaceon a lot and used her a few times and thought she was cool. I really like her cry for some reason.

Steel - Dialga

I played Diamond first so always remember seeing Dialga in the opening of the game.

Dragon - Palkia

I like Palkia. It’s got a nice color scheme and feels galactic.

Fairy - Togekiss

Togekiss was the only choice for Sinnoh. Maybe in later generations there will be variants with the fairy type. Fairy types werent a thing until Kalos, so we can let it slide. I do actually like Togekiss and used her a lot in my Soul Silver team where she proved to be the strongest.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.