Geeks logo

Favourite Pokémon from each type

From Kanto - Galar

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

Pokémon has been a big part of my life for so long and it feels weird to say that it’s over twenty years old. Whilst most of my favourite pokemon tend to be stuff from the old generations, I appreciate a lot of the more recent Pokémon as well. It still feels like only yesterday when Diamond and Pearl came out for the Nintendo DS. Throughout the years a lot of my favourites have remained the same whilst some have changed. I think I will eventually cover my favourite Pokémon from each type from each region.

Grass - Bellossom

Bellossom has always been a solid favourite since it was first revealed. I remember receiving a tazo with Bellossom on it. And after seeing her in the Pikachu short from the Pokémon 2000 film I never stopped loving her. Her design is also really cute and adorable. I tend to use her in pretty much all of my teams where she is available.

Fire - Ninetales

This one was tricky because there are a lot of fire types with great designs and stats. I was torn between Arcanine, Rapidash and Ninetales and in the end, I went for Ninetales because of her design and her move pool to me feels unique. I love how it’s inspired by the mythical fox spirit also known as the nine-tail fox. Nowadays I can’t get the Naruto show out of my head when it comes to thinking of Ninetales.

Water - Vaporeon

Without a doubt one of my favourite eeveelutions. I think Vaporeon has one of the best designs and has great stats. Out of all the eeveelutions, I have used Vaporeon the most, and she hasn’t let me down.

Normal - Blissey

With Blissey I have a close connection with her. Before I wrote the fic, Carry On, Blissey, I remember how hard it was to obtain a chansey. Nowadays it’s a lot easier but because of how hard it was to get a chansey and needing to max it’s happiness to become a Blissey, I would say that she was worth it. Her move soft-boiled was so useful on my in-game teams and it meant I only had to use full restores on Blissey. A lot of people tend to associate me with Blissey even though my favourite Pokémon is Bellossom.

Electric - Flaaffy

As much as I love Ampharos, I think it’s pre-evolution, Flaaffy is so much cuter. I love the fact that she’s a pink sheep. She looks like she should be a dreamie resident from Animal Crossing. In a few play throughs I kept Flaaffy as she was and she’s also my current buddy on Pokémon Go.

Pyschic - Espeon

I loved Espeon when she was first released. Pokémon Collossuem and XD: Gale of Darkness made me love her even more. She may be fragile, but she’s quick and nimble.

Fighting - Breloom

I haven’t really paid attention to fighting types until later generations. The first one I really used was Breloom and I thought he was great. I love it’s design.

Rock - Diance

This one was hard (no pun intended) as I’ve never really used a lot of rock types on my team other than Tyranitar, Shuckle and the fossil Pokémon. Out of all of the rock-types, I think I like Diance the most because I love her design both in it’s normal and mega-evolution. Also love it’s connection to Carbink.

Ground - Swampert

Mudkip is my favourite starter and I found Swampert to be so useful. It was the first Pokémon I got to level 100 in the Hoenn games and Swampert has stuck with me ever since. Had Swampert had been around since generation 1, it would have devastated many teams with its access to ice moves, earthquake and surf.

Flying - Altaria

This Pokémon is simply adorable and angelic. This is one of my friend’s favourite Pokémon so I will always associate it with her. Altaria looks so sweet and innocent, but can also pack a powerful punch.

Bug - Vespiquen

Venomoth and Butterfree came a close second but Vespiquen topped it for me. I think she’s such a diva and a Queen B and I love it. Her design feels unique and has a lot of signature moves. I think it’s a bit unfair male combee can’t evolve. I think they should have their own evolution or evolve into Beedrill. Female combee are rare and hard to find so having one and being able to use it on my team was a great treat.

Poison - Vileplume

A lot of people seem to think that just because I love Bellossom that I don’t like Vileplume. That’s not the case at all. I used Vileplume in my gameboy teams and she’s great. I had a Vileplume keyring since I was a child and I still have it. Whilst I’ve never played the trading card game, I did have some Vileplume cards and a Vileplume coin when I was younger, which I think helped stem my love for the oddish line for life.

Dark - Umbreon

Being a big fan of the eeveelutions, I love Umbreon. He’s extremely bulky and has one of the best designs. I love how in his shiny form, the gold rings on him are blue instead. I loved having having him as a starter in Pokémon Collossuem because he and Espeon worked great as a team.

Ghost -Mimikyu

Mimikyu is a cute Pokémon. Even though it’s creepy and can come across as scary, I love how it’s made such a big impact on the games. Normally each generation will have a pikachu clone or two and this was a great way to spice things up with a Pokémon that tries looking like Pikachu but it’s true form ends up killing people in horrible ways. Even though I don’t watch the anime as much, I love how Mimikyu has a huge part in the Sun & Moon series. I have a shiny one on my Alola fairy team and she’s great.

Ice - Lapras

Since I couldn’t choose between Lapras and Vaporeon as my favourite water, I decided to list Lapras as my favourite ice Pokémon. She is strong and bulky and I remember dominating many teams with her. Her huge move pool makes her versatile and a great fit to anybody’s team. I love how when you’re surfing in the gameboy era, it comes up with Lapras and how in the anime we saw people riding on Lapras.

Steel - Mega-Mawile

I always thought Mawile was a good Pokémon. I liked its colour-scheme and reminds me of Futakuchi-onna, the woman with two mouths. Mega-Mawile is my favourite mega-evolution and it got a real update in both design, stats and reliability. With Mega-Mawile’s ability, Huge Power, it has one of the highest attack stats in the game.

Dragon - Shiny Goodra

When Pokémon X and Y came out, I remember being really excited for the new Pokémon. Around this time was when the new type fairy was announced and it changed the meta game a lot. One of my favourite Pokémon to come from Kalos is Goodra. I love the entire Goodra line. Goomy and Sligoo are just as adorable as their final form. I love how it evolves in the rain and it’s got a great move pool and bulk. I love the original purple on Goodra, but I love it’s shiny form. The light yellow,purple and pink colour scheme makes it really stand out and bring it’s cuteness out.

Fairy - Alcremie (Matcha Cream Form)

Alcremie is my favourite Pokémon from Galar and love how she comes in different flavours and colours. As someone who loves Matcha Lattes and green tea in general, I was really pleased there was a matcha cream form. I think the light green looks the cutest along with the pink one. She’s one of those Pokémon that I prefer their non-shiny forms to the shiny counterpart. She really surprised me as well, she’s stronger than she looks. Whilst I am not the biggest fan of the G-max forms, I love how she’s a big wedding cake.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.