Geeks logo

Favourite Kalos Pokémon

From each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

The Kalos region is based on real life France with its mallow fields, grand castles and Paris-inspired architecture. The sixth generation of Pokémon brought some really cool features with the most prominent ones being the mega-evolutions and the new fairy type. Training and breeding mechanics were easier than ever, battling and online became easier and fun. Whilst Kalos has the smallest new roster of Pokémon, you don’t really notice it as the older Pokémon also do a lot in the games as well with the new forms and the fact you get a Kanto starter of your choice.

Grass - Pumpkaboo

Since I am a fan of pumpkins, I love how this Pokémon is based on one. I love the pumpkin salads you can get in Japan and the pumpkin spice lattes you can get in the autumn. I think he’s a cute little ghost and like how he has two faces. I think it’s a nice touch that it comes with different sizes and that it’s base stat changes too.

Fire - Talonflame

When I used Talonflame in battle, I thought it was really reliable despite its big weakness to stealth rock. It’s high speed and attack stat make it a popular choice for a sweeper. It’s hidden ability, Gale Winds gives priority to STAB flying moves like Brave Bird. Everything Talonflame can do, it can excel. I also love it’s design and it’s colour.

Water - Greninja

There’s a reason why Greninja is so well-loved in the fandom. It played a huge role in the anime and was also able to shine on his own as a playable character in Smash Brothers. Being a playable character on the Smash Brothers Roster is like a special VIP area. Greninja has healthy stats across the board and its hidden ability Protean is one of the best abilities in the game. Greninja is great in everything he does.

Normal - Furfrou

Furfrou reminds me of cute normal type Pokémon like Furret and Linoone. I also love his poodle look and his ability Fur Coat, which is really useful in battle. I love the french flavour in him. He’s cute and stylish.

Electric - Dedenne

The regional Pikachu clone is adorable and looks a lot like a Raichu. It’s fitting how it’s also a fairy type and I think Game Freak and Nintendo really pushed the new fairy type in its game.

Psychic - Meowstic

As a cat lover, I love any sort of feline pokemon. Meowstic is no exception. I like how the male and female Meowstic have different colours, movepools and abilities.

Fighting - Hawluchua

He should be a super hero. He looks awesome and is awesome. I remember reading a fic about him and it made me like him even more.

Rock - Diancie

Her mega form is amazing and she looks like a chandalier. Her normal form is adorable as well and I like her connection with Carbink. She reminds me of Beyonce for some reason.

Ground - Zygarde

The black and green really work for me. I'm not sure what they were going for with him, but he's got a really mysterious vibe with it's different forms, including a dog. I'm not too keen on it's shiny form, but lots of people seem to like it's shiny and use it a lot.

Flying - Noivern

He looks more like a bat than a dragon, but I still think he looks kickass with his design.

Bug - Vivillion

It has so many regional variants, we would be here all day trying to list them all. It's pokedex number is 666, which is ironically the number of the beast.

Poison - Dragalage

Kalos introduced some really cool dragons, and Dragalage is one of them. It's poison type protects it against super effective attacks from fairies.

Dark - Inkjay

Inkjay is very unique and is still one of the only pokemon that evolves when turning the console upside down.

Ghost - Phantup

He's a cute little thing. I think he's a nice counterpart to Pumpkaboo.

Ice - Aurorus

I think he is one of my favourite fossil pokemons because he's got a really cute face and his winter colour scheme really works well.

Steel - Aigelash

He's a really fun pokemon. When I look at this pokemon, I can't help but think of The Legend of Zelda or Fire Emblem. I love how he changes his form depending on what sort of attacks he uses and he has access to some really great moves. It would have been a catastrophe if the Aigeslash line wasn't included in Sword and Shield.

Dragon - Goodra

Goodra is like no other dragon. It may not have wings, but it's cute, strong and gooey. I love how her shiny form is yellow, but her normal purple colour is a nice as well. She's versatile, you can train her to be either a tank or a fighting machine that will give opponents a sticky end. I trained one of my Goodras with an assault vest to make her a tanky sweeper.

Fairy - Florges

I remember when I was living with my nan, there were these hyacinth plants in my garden, and as a child and thinking I wish there was a pokemon that looked like this. Florges is heavily inspired by hyacinths and also nympths and fairies. I think she's a gorgous pokemon and her name is so fitting. I also like how she has colour variants. I can see why she's just a pure fairy type because that would leave her to become even more vunerable to poison attacks.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.