Geeks logo

Favourite Johto Pokemon

From each type

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

The Johto games have always been my favourite generation of pokémon. They tie in so well with the original games with the branch evolutions and how they share an Elite Four in GSC. I also think that a lot of the pokemon here are adorable.

Grass - Bellossom

My all-time favourite pokemon. I always have her on my team, and she loves to dance. I have a lot of Bellossom merchandise at home. When I'm at conventions, if I see anything with Bellossom on it, I will buy it if I have the money. One time in Diamond I hacked loads of Sun Stones so I could fill my boxes up with Bellossoms and was also breeding for a shiny one. I ended up with at least 200 Bellossoms in the end and got five of them ended up being shiny.

Fire - Quilava

Middle evolutions don't always get a lot of love. I like Quilava because I think he's sweet. Cyndauil is cute too, and Typlosion is fierce, but I have a soft spot for Quilava because it's cry back in gen 2 always sounded funny to me.

Water - Lanturn

Lanturn used to be one of those pokemon that I wanted to use on my team but didn't have the slot for him. In my recent playthrough of Crystal things changed. Lanturn quickly became one of the strongest pokemon on my side and wreaked havoc on gym leaders, the elite four and Red.

Normal - Blissey

People associate me with this pokemon because of my fic. Blissey is an angelic pokemon and remembers her in the anime that she was so clumsy but also very kind. Her heart was in the right place. And I think she's incredible in battle too. I remember someone ragequitted in an online fight because I sent out Blissey.

Electric - Flaaffy

Mareep is cute, and Flaaffy is adorable. She looks bubbly and energetic and also curious. She's my favourite middle evolution. I love the fact that she's a cute fluffy sheep. When I see Reese from Animal Crossing, I can't stop thinking about Flaaffy. She's a precious bean.

Psychic - Espeon

For a little while, Espeon was my favourite pokemon. I used her a lot on XD: Gale of Darkness and I think she's beautiful and reminds me of a cat so much.

Fighting - Hitmontop

My favourite out of the Hitmon trio and one of the few fighting types I am fond of. It's hard getting the balance between defence and attack to get Tyrogue to evolve. I love how he spins around with the horn on his head like a Beyblade.

Rock - Tyranitar

Tyranitar was a monster to me when I first battled it in Pokemon Colosseum, but when I used it on my team, I thought he was great. This is another pokemon that I forget is from Johto when I've associated the Orre region so much with him.

Ground - Swinub

Swinub is adorable, and when I have him on my team, I never evolve it. I want to get a Swinub plushie at some point. I love how his pink nose stands out from his brown fur.

Flying - Jumpluff

Jumpluff is another adorable pokemon. I think he's quite underrated. It's perfect as an annoyer with access to Leech Seed, Toxic and the spore moves. I don't have any official merchandise of Jumpluff at home. Still, I have a custom-made shiny Jumpluff plushie that I bought on Etsy. I love it's shiny form because it reminds me of candy floss.

Bug - Ledian

Ledian is so adorable. I know it's not the best or the strongest, but I still like it. I loved ladybugs when I was a child, so I always felt a connection with Ledian. And I also like it's English name because it rolls off the tongue nicely and sounds soft.

Poison - Crobat

Back in the day, Zubats and Golbats used to annoy the hell out of me. You would always see them popping up in every cave. Over the years, I learned to like the Zubat line, and when it wasn't in the national dex in Black and White, I started to miss Zubat. I've used Crobot a lot, and I really like him because he's fast and can use fly. Crobot always reminds me of Gen 2's rival, Silver and how he got character development. Golbat evolves through happiness so when you see Silver using Crobat on his team, you can tell that he's had character development.

Dark - Umbreon

Umbreon will always be my favourite dark type because I love Pokemon Colosseum. Even if I didn't play Colosseum or XD: Gales of Darkness, I could still see myself liking Umbreon. I love his yin yan moment with Espeon.

Ghost - Misdrevous

I think it's a shame that you can't catch it until later on in the games. I think Misdrevous is a cute pokemon and love her hairstyle. She looks so friendly, which isn't something you would associate with a ghost.

Ice - Smoochum

I love Smoochum way more than Jynx. Smoochum is pink and fluffy and has cute little duck face. How can something so sweet evolve into something creepy like Jynx? I'm sorry, but I think Jynx is disturbing especially the black-face controversy. If I can help it, I won't evolve it. I once soloed the Elite Four with just Smoochum, and it had Toxic, Ice Beam, Psychic and I think the last move was either Grass Knot or Shadow Ball. I think it

Steel - Skarmory

I never used Skarmory until later generations. I sometimes forget he's from Gen 2 because I had one in Ruby. I also had a Tropius on my team at the time, and I used to call my Skarmory and Tropius brothers. I caught a shiny Skarmory in Pokemon X and named him Suguru after a character from Gravitation. Even though his IVs weren't the best, it did better than I thought it would do in battle thanks to his excellent defence.

Dragon - Kingdra

Not much choice other than Mega-Ampharos and Kingdra. I think I prefer Kingdra. I like how Kingdra actually becomes a dragon type when he evolves. I wish I had the chance to use one back when my GameBoy save files were still working, but sadly I didn't have access to trading back then. I've got two 3ds consoles and the games are on the virtual console, so I can try it now. I've used Kingdra a few times, and I thought it was awesome.

Fairy - Azumarill

I've got a story to this one. My friend had a rabbit called Sylvia, and when it died, I drew a picture of Azumarill to cheer him up. Somewhere in one of my games, I have an Azumarill called Sylvia, and she's wrecked several rock-types in her time. Huge Power is a really great ability on her, and I love her design because it's so cute.

gaming
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.