Geeks logo

Fantasy To Reality

Evolving your most whimsical ambitions

By Kamran YoungPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dragodon(2021) Dragodon(2010)

Ever since I was 4 years old I loved to draw and play with action figures; I eventually grew a hobby for creating and drawing my own superheroes and other fictional characters whenever I found an opportunity to do so. I drew on all sorts of things; from the walls in my room to the driveway outside, and as I grew older in test booklets in school. I began to notice through all of my doodling, I tended to draw a particular character more frequently than I drew the other characters. This fantastical dragon, looking individual, took the name of “Drago'' and became my favorite character that I would draw constantly. The more I drew him the more I started to become distressed in the thought of knowing that I would not be able to actually play with Drago as an action figure like I did with most of the figures I drew.

Instead of dealing with the fact that I couldn't really sew a plushie together, or craft up a metallic action figure, I began to create little fabric costumes for my favorite toy bear that I played the most out of all of my toys. Drago was the first of many costumes I would make for my stuffed animal toys. I made Marvel superhero costumes, Pirates of the Carribean getups, DC comic outfits, and some other atypical outfits that I just made up. I conducted this hobby of making costumes for stuffed animals until I was about 14 years of age because I grew out of playing with toys and moved on to just drawing, mostly. However, around the age of 15 I picked the hobby up once more and undertook the occupation of making costume pieces again; not for stuffed animals to wear, but for myself to wear. The first human sized costume piece I made wasn't something to wear, I had fashioned a 6’3 sword prop from a video game I’ve seen, from large cardboard boxes I’ve found. This began a little renaissance in my passion again; to make plenty of other cardboard and non cardboard props and costume pieces. My second composition was Drago, who after drawing him a bit more, decided to overhaul his style to fit a more Eastern Chinese Dragon look and changed his name to “Dragodon ''.



Buster Sowrd (2020)

His first design was very simple and was relatively easy to do because of its simplicity. I was gonna leave it until I figured out what to do with it, so it sat on my shelf for a couple months where I went and made another 6’0 sword, a stormtrooper helmet, and Darth Vader's helmet. After all of these were to my liking, I played a Japanese samurai game with a close friend of mine. The game's main character wore a face mask to hide his identity which I immediately found very cool and inspiring. After beating the game, I went over to the Dragodon helmet and began sketching some ideas out. It didn't take long to design the lower part of the helmet, so I promptly got to work on the new version of Dragodon. I effortlessly made a fine mouth proportion to his face with direct inspiration from the Japanese inspired video game that galvanized me to do so.

I improvised when improving the rest of the helmet because I had gotten quite excited after crafting the mouth and I ended up making a pretty seamless design in the end, in my opinion. Before coloring the entire head I wanted to make the helmet look more “worn” and “traveled”, so I went and wrapped some black cloth and string around the skull to give it a “makeshift, repaired,” look to it. Before finally painting over the entire head, I wanted to give the spikes on the top of it a different medium other than just paint, seeing that it would make the entire piece of armour look more appealing. In the end, I added a cloth for the inside to make it comfortable to wear and attached orange cloth strips with little holes in them for the eyes.

At last, I covered the entire head with 4 coats of black spray paint; and called it a day. These little outfits and “prop things” are very fun to make for me, every time I make them it takes priority over everything else I do, for that duration of time. I plan to continue to make these costumes and replica items for as long as I am able, it is a very fulfilling hobby for me and I find mountain loads of joy working on these custom creations.



Stormtrooper(2021) Darth Vader(2021)





art
Like

About the Creator

Kamran Young

It’s a great day for tea!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.