Geeks logo

Fairytale and Folklore Audible Recommendations

For audiobook newbies and avid listeners alike

By Rachel M.JPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Fairytale and Folklore Audible Recommendations
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

Folk-stories and fairytales told through spoken language are the most delectable way to enjoy an audiobook. Certain gems might reward you with a full-feature cast, epic soundtracks, or a familiar voice to guide you through an old childhood favourite.

Explore these five recommendations guaranteed to ensnare the senses.

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

A retelling of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty; this story is rich in imagery and personality.

By Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

"It was the closest kingdom to the Queens as the crow flies, but not even the crows flew it"

Although it is a short read, it is every bit worth your time. It fills sixty-six minutes with dreamy music seeped in sinister tones, a full character cast, and an attention to detail that fully immerses you into the fantasy. While I would recommend any of Neil Gaiman’s audiobooks (consider Stardust or The Graveyard Book) to lovers of fairytales or absurdity, this one in particular stands out among the rest

The Sleeper and the Spindle, by Neil Gaiman

Kissing the Witch by Emma Donoghue

Cinderella forsakes the handsome prince and runs off with the fairy godmother; Beauty discovers the Beast behind the mask is not so very different from the face she sees in the mirror; Snow White is awakened from slumber by the bittersweet fruit of an unnamed desire.

By Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

When I remember this story, I think of a poem my Grandmother used to tell me when I was a kid. At the end of each verse the listener would have their expectations subverted as the poem didn’t end in a rhyme but leapt in a new direction.

Kissing the witch is a collection of short story retellings of old fairytales. The tales mould into one, and each story ends while leading into the beginning of the next.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barry

The sweet lilting voice of Lilly Collins (I plead you not to think of Emily in Paris) transports the listener to Neverland. Listening to Peter Pan instead of reading it yourself allows you to be swept away in what occasionally feels like a stream of consciousness.

Peter Pan on Audible

I’d forgotten what a joy this story was and having it read to me in my adulthood had me laughing at the beauty and strangeness of it. I also think there's also a lot of lessons to learn from the relationships in this book, but I'll spare you the philosophising.

Wendy, Wendy, when you are sleeping in your silly bed you might be flying about with me saying funny things to the stars

By Pascal Debrunner on Unsplash

Circe, by Madline Miller

Circe follows the story of the lesser Goddess of Witchcraft. Born of the God of the Sun, Helios, Circe struggles with a life of being plain amongst cruel gods and scheming nymphs.

Circe on Audible

You don't have to know anything about Greek Mythology to enjoy this story (I didn't). In fact, I think it enhanced the listening experience to not know, as it allowed me to experience wonder at every new tale. The narrator does a fantastic job of bringing Circe's character to life in a way that shows the nuances of her emotional range.

He was another knife I could feel it. A different sort, but a knife still. I did not care. I thought: give me the blade. Some things are worth spilling blood for.

The Ickabog, by J.K. Rowling

Now I’ll listen to any story read to me by Stephen Fry. Hand that guy my grocery list, I'll wait. I wanna hear it.

The Ickabog by J.K. Rowling

There's also merit to be given to the familiar writings of J.K. Rowling. While I also found that the Harry Potter books themselves (along with Tales of Beedle the Bard and Fantastic Beasts) read like fairytales, the Ickabog seems fresher to me, like J.K. Rowling finding her stride again after a slew of.. well...

Not so fantastic tales.

Listening to this story feels like sitting in front of a fireplace.

Nobody would ever again say that he was selfish, vain, and cruel! For the sake of a smelly, simple old shepherd and his worthless old mongrel, he, King Fred the Fearless, was going to hunt the Ickabog!

For more audiobook recommendations try Ten LGBT+ Audiobooks

Thanks for reading! If you tried and loved (or hated) any of these recommendations feel free to let me know on Twitter, @Raizerbeem

list
2

About the Creator

Rachel M.J

Magical realist

I like to write about things behaving how they shouldn't ~

Instagram: Rachel M.J

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.