Geeks logo

E.T. (1982) Review

Film School Firsts #4

By Mary NicholsPublished 4 years ago 12 min read
Like

I know. Who hasn't seen E.T?

Me. I haven't seen E.T.

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982), is an American science fiction film directed by Steven Spielberg. This was a very engaging film, and I had a lot of comments, so prepare yourselves – possible spoilers ahead.

The story follows Elliott, a boy who befriends an alien (or extra-terrestrial), that he names "E.T.", who is stranded on Earth. With the help of his siblings, he tries to care for E.T. and help him find his way home.

Now, I’d seen Henry Thomas’ audition tape, so I knew this film was going to hit me where it hurts. Friendship is one of the best things on this planet (and beyond) and it’s definitely something I’m passionate about. Two things that break my heart (particularly on screen) are broken friendships and divorce. On the flip side, friendship and healthy loving relationships warm my heart (that’s painful in a different way, a good way though).

I moved away from home for film school, it’s been just 10 months as I write this, it hasn’t all been easy. People ask me what I miss or what’s different from home and the truth is, not much. What I really miss are my family and friends (or friend). Okay, I’ve made that joke before, so I’ll just clarify. I do have more than one friend (although it’s fine not to), I just have one very close friend. My other friends are cool and fun, and all the other things friends are, but we see each other a lot less and I think we’re all okay with that. So, I single out my close friend because it doesn’t seem fair (or truthful) to put her in the category of ‘friends’. To be really truthful I don’t think all of my ‘friends’ should be in that category, but it seems somehow cruel to say acquaintance. I feel like somewhere along the line, we lost the value of friendship. Like, somehow not being classified as someone’s friend means they don’t like or care about you. Friends were made to just be people you know. Or people you hang out with to pass the time until you have something better to do. Someone to complain to about work or family. Family is a whole other issue. And if you don’t enjoy your work, that’s a large portion of your life you’re not enjoying and actually wishing away in some cases, so please enjoy your work. And so much emphasis was placed on finding a romantic partner that, in essence, replaces your friends! And that is unhealthy on many levels, never replace your friends (even if they do change over the years).

This is why I shouldn’t tell jokes.

First of all, I thought it was excellent to have such a fitting production company.

The music sets a great tone for the opening. It’s eerie, slightly sinister, and highlights the unknown aspect. It turns slightly wondrous as the titles fade, but it still keeps the element of the unknown to introduce us to the aliens.

What I thought was clever was establishing alien life first, then confirming the Earth setting through wildlife and the city-scape. This introduces us the story world through alien eyes. This helps create sympathy for the character of E.T. and gives us more “reliable” information about the aliens as we’re in their world, rather than looking through a human lens.

After this, a threat to this world is established. It really was a skillful opening. The sudden appearance of faceless pursuers in the dark accompanied by, again, the music creates tension and presents us with our opening antagonist, putting us on the aliens’ side. This is reinforced when he’s left alone, we feel sympathy for him.

I really liked the introduction to the characters in this film. This was at a time when D&D was for nerds – I guess it still is, but it used to be used as a sign of the unpopular, it seems more mainstream now. Nerds in general have become more popular, or at least a less derogatory term (in some circles) since. You just have to look at films like Galaxy Quest (1999), which happens to be one of my favourites, and how popular that was (especially for marketing purposes).

The fact that this group is playing a game associated with outsiders is important as it establishes Elliot, our protagonist, as an outsider to the outsiders. This builds sympathy for him, in a similar way to E.T, and makes it more understandable when he goes to investigate a noise by himself (a rookie move in many films, I was impressed with his response to the returned ball, that was sensible but also believable and appropriate for the character and situation). Although we felt sympathy for the, as yet unnamed, creature, we’re still unsure of him. His heavy breathing could be a sign of vulnerability or a predatory inclination, so we’re glad Elliot didn’t do anything impulsive alone (yet).

Cue, next scene. I would ask “why go all alone?” but we all would want to know, plus no one believed him. Side note – always listen to children in movies, they’re always right. Through this interaction, it’s confirmed that E.T. isn’t malicious, he’s scared. This is the first time we see his full face in the light, when he’s showing fear of a child, and thus, hinting at his own child-like tendencies.

I love how bikes are associated with adventure and mystery; I’d like to incorporate that in my own work in the future. And they’re way better than cars. Not necessarily from a production (continuity) standpoint because you can clearly see who’s riding it but from a story perspective. In terms of mobility, and they’re better for the environment, probably easier and cheaper to rent or just buy. I also like trains (they're not in this film, I just like their associations).

Exposition through subtext! I love when exposition is done like this. It can be irritating when exposition is delivered directly through dialogue, like a character just explaining their backstory, or a villain their evil plan. Monologues are particularly hard for me, I feel like I should be taking notes, I’m not going to remember half of it, so I’ll have to piece together the ending on the way home. Which can be fun actually but not because of overly expositional dialogue. Not all monologues are overly expositional, just some of what I've seen. It’s turns out I’m passionate about expositional dialogue. I just feel like, if I wanted it explained to me, I’d read a book, or listen to a book (I actually prefer reading but that’s just me) or get the director’s commentary (I’m not saying those are bad, they’re a place for explained exposition, and it’s great in that place). I see film as a different form of storytelling, one with exposition revealed in subtext and visual/audio cues like this.

When we’re more properly introduced to E.T. he copies Elliot like a child might, and his “growls” become more like purrs. This, again, increases our sympathy for him because, in general, people like (or are at least more accepting of) children and fluffy animals.

I can’t ignore the classic coca cola product placement. Also, classic faking illness to skip a school day. I don’t know anyone who hasn’t done that – we learn to lie at such an early age! Not well though, I’m sure. We all thought we were so slick and 100% our parents/ teachers knew what we were up to. Sometimes they’d call us on it.

Side note, is that Drew Barrymore?

She’s amazing, I love it.

I also liked that (I liked a lot in this film, so sue me. Please don’t actually, I can’t afford a lawyer. I’m in film school, what would you sue me for? Distribution rights?) the film begins in the dark and gets lighter when we learn more about the characters and how they relate to each other. Ironically, when they have something to hide.

Side note 2 (I also have a lot of side notes) - They dissect LIVE frogs?

We dissected pig hearts at school, but they were very much not beating.

When their mum is putting away the shopping - great avoidance (get it? you get it) scene! It highlights the busyness and stress of life that we can all relate to at some point. And you get the sense that this is constant for her. This film did well in showing the struggle of life as a single mum, and the struggle of all parents who want their children to be safe and to know what’s going on in their lives.

The connection between Elliot and E.T. was established but the explanation was left out, which I think was smart, because it wasn’t necessary. We’re not watching a film about alien technology or anatomy; we’re watching a film about belonging and friendship. While some may question the logistics of any and every film, I think an explanation would’ve distracted from the story here. Efficiency does play a key role in film and would have been inefficient to include an explanation here. Ironically, my explanation was included and inefficient. But this review isn’t a film. You see how different forms of expression do things differently?

Wow, I forgot how racist Peter Pan was. Maybe not Peter himself but the story is a little questionable (or the language within the story).

I cut my finger today, it is surprising how much blood you have in a finger. And just in a shallow cut!

I have several notes that I don’t think need a huge explanation, they’re not extremely relevant in a review sense but I’d like to include them (just for the sake of relatability – it’s basically just what I thought as I watched) so:

One hour after sunset in a forest is going to be a very difficult time to see anything, especially outside the city (or in a forest).

Seeing faceless men with identical briefcases is never a good sign.

They use several shots I wouldn’t have thought would be effective or interesting, but they work really well.

If there was ever a heart-breaking scene – the river. My heart. I actually gasped, cupped my hands, and went “nooo”.

Now that. That was a surprisingly effective jump scare.

Faceless suits. Terrifying. (Any kind of suit)

Who are they? Why is so much work being done? What is it they’re doing? Why?

Finally, a face… but somehow, I like it less.

Why are there so many of them?

Is it just me or is that dude suspiciously nice? In a creepy way. I’ve been corrupted by the My Favourite Martian (and many other not so pro-government films) mentality – which to be fair was shared by Elliot. Maybe I missed something.

“let’s split up”

Yes! Flying bikes! I did a double air punch – I’m not ashamed.

“come”, “stay” – talk about a punch to the heart.

Ouch is correct.

For a moment, that dog had me fooled.

I thought the whole film had really skillful production design, it kept the sense of realism in sci fi and it had fantastical elements which both reinforced by sci-fi and made it more interesting to watch. The link between E.T. and the flowers was inspired. I loved that. It seems so simple, but it was so effective, I think due, in part, to its simplicity. I saw several similarities in the production design with Stranger Things, which is set at the same time period, so clearly, they did their research well. There are some great throwbacks in that show.

I was also impressed with the camera work throughout, I only noticed it because I was looking for it at times, except nearer the end before the flying bikes because that was just impressive. It was exciting to look at and enhanced the story. That’s what you want.

I would call this a light-hearted film, but it had some pretty heavy moments. The fact that it even tackles grief and lack of emotion as a form of emotion and expression of grief, I mean, wow. But there was comedy, both preceding and after dark moments. And who doesn’t love a catchphrase? That was funny and adorable and slightly irritating (but in a cute way).

A rainbow was a genius move. They’re bright and hopeful and represent promises. E.T. made a promise when he left, and the rainbow was confirmation of that.

The film explores the meaning of home, friendship, and loss. Yet another thing I love about this story is the fact that they helped E.T. by sharing feelings not language, he did speak a bit at the end but that was BECAUSE of their bond, not the reason for it. I think that’s an important message because, as humans, we communicate in so many ways beside speech. Not that learning languages isn’t useful, I myself am learning Korean. I have a list. It may take a while.

There’s also the pain of wanting what’s best for your loved ones but also being selfish and wanting to be with them, whether it’s them staying with you or you with them. Something I definitely can’t relate to (I type while sobbing).

E.T. is an example of excellent storytelling in film. It’s a film. It tells the story through dialogue, subtext, images, movement, and sound. Each shot is designed to give us information and it was incredibly enjoyable to watch. It has a very different tone from Persona (1966), which is somewhat unsurprising. This film inspires me to go back to the core of story. I know I can do more in terms of sub-textual exposition. It’s a film that reminds me that, whether it’s my writing, my designing, my directing, (or even my acting,) my work contributes to story. And that’s why I want to make films, why I want to have any part in making films. I think at times I can lose sight of that, thinking about deadlines or networking or life in general. At the end of the day, I get to contribute something that maybe no one will notice but that adds to a story, and hopefully makes them feel something. The fact that you can paid for that, still blows my mind. I’m so excited.

review
Like

About the Creator

Mary Nichols

Aspiring story teller and artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.