Geeks logo

Dug Days - A Disney+ Series Review

Glowing with rich energy, 'Dug Days' devouts its story to a dog’s love.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Let’s check in and see what our old friend Dug is up to. Maybe he caught the squirrel.

Dug Days is a series of shorts released to Disney+ in 2021. Following the adventures from the first film, Carl and Dug find a new house to live in. Getting into the usual dog antics, Dug and Carl go on countless adventures.

I sat with the biggest smile on my face watching each episode of Dug Days. Up is my favorite film. When I found out that there were going to be five new Up related shorts, I was bouncing off the walls in excitement. Glowing with rich energy, Dug Days devouts its story to a dog’s love.

Dug is an absolute joy. This beloved dog is curious about everything. Getting himself into crazy situations - like chasing squirrels, watching puppies, or running all over the yard to burn off his exuberant energy, Dug is the best example of man’s best friend. Dug has an incredible heart that he passes to everyone. Bob Peterson was terrific reprising his role as Dug.

For his final performance, the late Ed Asner returned as Carl Fredricksen. Once again, he did a wonderful job, finding the right emotion. Carl has grown so much since we last saw him. Learning to let go, Carl learns a new lesson. Dogs make our lives worth living. Every interaction between Carl and Dug is heartwarming.

I wish that Russel could have been in more shorts. Still, I understand these episodes are about Carl and Dug. After all, Carl and Russel had an entire film based on their growing friendship.

Jordan Nagai actually returns as the voice of the energetic wilderness explorer - but through archive recordings. If Pixar does end up making more Dug Days shorts, I hope they continue to have more with the trio.

There are several voice talents in Dug Day’s. One episode has fun with more ‘talking animals.’ Simon Helberg, Jeff Pidgeon, and Saraya Blue had a blast in their parts. Credible mentions also go to Naketia Henry, Heather Eisner, and a special mention goes to Moon Chow for a significant character that I am so glad is given a deserved callback from the original film.

The animation has come a long way for Up. I cannot get over how realistic the squirrel is. The character designs and backgrounds breathe energy into the film. The colors are so bright. I could sense that animators studied dogs closely again to track their every movement.

Dogs are one of the best gifts that life has to offer. There is never a dull moment. I watched these shorts with my dog sitting right beside me. My heart glowed as I laughed, and even felt myself tearing up. Up has a special place in my heart.

After 12 years, Pixar did not miss a beat with this spin-off series. At the same time as voicing Dug, Bob Peterson continued a story about friendship. Adventure will always be out there. Continue to make new adventures each day. Dug Days have heart. It is funny, adorable, and relatable if you have a dog.

In the five Up shorts, Dug’s role is given more time to expand. Aside from his ability to speak through a collar, he is still just a dog. Dogs say so much. Peterson creatively sold the story from the eyes of a dog. My favorite moment was when Dug detected smells. You can never stop a dog from being who they are.

You have to check out Dug Days on Disney+. It will make your heart explode from its adorable scenes.

tv
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.