Geeks logo

Don't Bother to Knock - A Movie Review

'Don’t Bother to Knock' is a suspenseful film about the paranoia of an unhinged babysitter.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Be sure that you know who is babysitting your children. They could be a psycho.

Showing up to babysit in 1952, Don’t Bother to Knock is a thriller about an unbalanced woman hired to babysit for the evening. Catching the attention of a man across the way in the hotel, he walks into one of the most bizarre evenings of his life.

I am very surprised that I have never seen a film with the famous Marilyn Monroe until now. Based on the types of media I have seen of her bubbly and musical personality, Don’t Bother to Knock showcases a darker side of the actress. Don’t Bother to Knock is a suspenseful film about the paranoia of an unhinged babysitter.

Marilyn Monroe noted that she took this role only to show the critics that she could act. Monroe is tremendous as Nell, a woman who is unstable. Snooping into the family’s personal items, there is something peculiar about Nell from the beginning. Subtle details about her past are slowly revealed within well-acted and emotional monologues. Monroe even startled me in an unexpected and dark threat.

At first, I was not too fond of Jed (Richard Widmark). Because of the demanding tone in which he spoke to women, I thought he had very different intentions when he visits Nell. Noticing Nell’s strange behavior, he treats her more respectfully than anybody else has in a long time. You never know who you will run into for help.

In her movie debut, Anne Bancroft is superb. I became a fan of her work ever since I saw her as Anne Sullivan in The Miracle Worker. As the strong-willed singer of the hotel, Lyn does not let Jed overpower her. At first, I thought the story writers forgot about her in the middle portion but she becomes an unexpected hero.

Expect appearances by Donna Corcoran, Jeanne Cagney, Lurenne Tuttle, Elisha Cook Jr., Jim Backus, Verna Felton, Willis Bouchey, and Don Beddoe. And an adorably stubborn dog. Everyone does an excellent job, including the nosy elderly couple giving a comical aspect to their part in the movie.

I liked the little scenes created in the elevator to generate comedic moments. Elisha Cook Jr (Eddie) especially did an excellent job as a nervous elevator lift operator. As Nell’s uncle, he kindly checks in on her. However, I thought the way he yelled at her was out of character and chauvinistic.

My favorite aspect of this film is that it takes place in the course of one evening. The hotel used for filming was a gorgeous location. I wish more movies would do that instead of expanding the story out for days. That makes audiences lose focus because they want to get to the main point.

The camera work and direction was handled very well. Specific close-ups on important items or revelations made for great effects toward moments of suspense. Roy Ward Baker delivered a dramatic climax. He didn’t just pay attention to the main action, but also gave secondary characters a chance to shine.

The climax is my favorite part. It distributes the moral that we cannot ignore those with ailing mental health. Disturbing at times, audiences empathize with Nell. Monroe did a great job making herself vulnerable, needing help to understand her mind. No matter what, you will always have someone there even if you feel alone.

I was on the edge of my seat throughout this film. There was a moment when I gasped. Don’t Bother to Knock is a well-directed thriller. The late Marilyn Monroe achieves a compelling performance. I recommend to anyone and all Marilyn Monroe fans to watch this film.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.