Geeks logo

Doc Martin - A Series Review

No matter how many times I have watched episodes, 'Doc Martin' never gets old.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Better go see Doc Martin. You never know what sort of patients he’s seeing today.

Doc Martin aired on television in 2004. Based in a small town in Cornwall, Dr. Martin Ellingham tends to all the eccentric patients of Portwenn. Not the most open and affectionate person, he falls in love with Louisa. The couple works out a difficult romance while several medical emergencies happen across the town.

For the last couple of years, my grandmother and I watch Doc Martin on Wednesday nights. I never thought I would enjoy this series as much as I do. While the series is an impressive work about the medical field, it’s a series that focuses on relationships.

Martin Clunes is an excellent actor. He knows how to land comedy. As the gruff doctor, Martin’s social skills are not the best. He’s not fond of people. He hates dogs. And he is phobic of blood. On several occasions, I have turned my nose up at his behavior.

However, before you make judgments, we all have hidden dilemmas. Martin has hidden traits. Clunes does a spectacular job interpreting this character, particularly with everything in the medical field. He’s a real hero at the end of each day.

The dynamic between Martin and Louisa (Caroline Catz) is the central theme of the show. Catz is a superb actress, finding the story of her character. As a teacher, she looks out for her students. Like Martin, Louisa is also a stubborn person who has her way of looking at the world.

Despite hitting rocks in the road, Martin and Louisa do everything to make their relationship work. They definitely have their fair share of arguments and disagreements over time. I remember having this big smile on my face during the end of one significant episode. Couples could learn from this show to keep trying.

Doc Martin has an ensemble of characters. That’s what I like most about this series. It’s a character study. In a small town, everybody knows the other’s story. Credits include Ian McNiece, Joe Absolom, Selina Cadell, Jessica Ransoni, Eileen Atkins, Stephanie Cole, John Marquez, and Katherine Parkinson. Every character is relatable.

Let’s not forget all the characters who have some sort of medical emergency in every episode. Whether it’s a broken bone, finding out a diagnosis, or just hypochondriacs. The ensemble has a fun time on this show.

Doc Martin knows its comedy. I find myself laughing out loud so many times. It’s all about comedic timing. The show even falls on dark comedy at times. A touch of physical comedy is even thrown into the mix.

Speaking of which, if you are phobic of any aspects of the medical field, Doc Martin is not the series for you. Aside from blood, the series has some gruesome accidents. And surgeries. I turned away from the screen some of the time because the images were so gross. The show goes for authenticity, I will give it that.

Dominic Minghella created a series about relationships, your career, and looking out for your health. Appreciate your doctor. And look out for yourself, that is the most important step in life. Not only does Doc Martin discuss the medical field, but it’s also a show about making friendships. The cast worked hard in their relationships creating a genuine town.

I am looking forward to seeing what season 10 does to close out the series. No matter how many times I have watched episodes, Doc Martin never gets old.

I recommend that you start watching Doc Martin. I always look forward to Wednesday nights to enjoy a laugh.

tv
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.