Geeks logo

Dennis the Menace - A Movie Review

If anyone asked, 'Dennis the Menace' was my childhood.

By Marielle SabbagPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I’d be careful. Dennis is no ordinary kid. He is a menace!

Dennis the Menace arrived in theaters in 1993. Based on the comic strip, George Wilson has been harassed by his next-door neighbor, a 5-year-old kid named Dennis Mitchell. When his parents need to go away, they have no other place to turn to, sending their son to Mr. and Mrs. Wilson for the weekend.

If anyone asked, Dennis the Menace was my childhood. To this day, this film still makes me laugh. Most viewers are put off by the movie because of its nonstop cartoon slapstick. We need more films like this! For me, Dennis the Menace is pure nostalgia.

At his audition, Mason Gamble took a worm out of his pocket. That earned him the role of the mischievous Dennis Mitchell. Gamble was adorable in his performance. Getting himself into loads of trouble, Dennis’s curiosity raises eyebrows.

For the rest of his life, children recognized the late Walter Matthau as George Wilson. George was put through a lot, getting pills shot into his mouth, doing splits, and putting up with countless other mishaps from Dennis.

George is not the most open or friendly person. I wasn’t fond of some of the things he did. I know Dennis gets into mischievousness, but George was too harsh even when he wasn’t doing anything. He lies to a child with no remorse!

Joan Plowright is a humble actress. I love her portrayal of Martha. Even as I kid, I felt like I knew her. Not always perfect, George and Martha’s marriage is an example of what love is. Couples won’t always agree, but together you can make it work.

The cast includes Lea Thompson, Robert Stanton, an unrecognizable performance by Christopher Lloyd, and an impressive cast of child actors. On my most recent watch, I was amazed at how naturally the young cast played off one another. My favorite scenes were between Dennis, Margaret (Amy Sakasits), and Joey (Kellen Hathaway).

When I say this film makes me laugh, I mean that I am laughing so hard to the point that I can’t breathe. Other people find it annoying, but it’s the essence of childhood. The best scene is when Dennis annoys the robber (Lloyd). Dennis asks so many questions that he can’t put up with him.

Speaking of Lloyd, one of the child actors was so afraid of him that he never approached him again after their scene. Even I was surprised by how menacing Lloyd could be. Years later, when I was talking to my brother about this film, he was so surprised to learn that Lloyd was the robber.

I am thankful for Dennis is the Menace. This was the movie I watched right after learning my aunt died. Not only did my aunt love this movie, but I felt close to her when I was watching it, enjoying a laugh. It has a special place in my heart.

Dennis the Menace is a story about childhood. We don’t have movies like this with nonstop comedy anymore. This is one of those films where if I could, I would watch it twice in one day.

Nick Castle instituted remarkable direction to all involved, especially the kid ensemble. Castle conquered the atmosphere. I also liked how the film was told in snippets before concentrating on its main storyline. Films don’t always need one comprehensive story.

You cannot avoid this film if you have not seen it. Dennis the Menace is worth the watch, especially for young children. Find it on Netflix.

celebritiescomedyentertainmentmoviepop culturereview
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Marielle Sabbag is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.