Geeks logo

Demon Slayer

Binge-Worthy Anime

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

This anime first aired in 2019 and ever since it was first released I have had people telling me I had to see it. But me being stubborn and not wanting to be disappointed by yet another otherly hyped anime I refused to take part in the hype.

Well, a few months ago I finally cracked and made a deal with my sister. She would watch Spy x Family for me and I'd watch Demon slayer for her.

I had very low expectations, I mean by the title you can guess what the story is about. I pushed play and was ready to be let down by another overly hyped anime. What came next shocked me.

Make sure to subscribe for anime content and comment below with your thoughts on Demon Slayer.

The Main Four

Storyline: Bloodthirsty demons lurk in the woods, and nobody dares to venture out at night, save for the demon slayer of legend. Surviving in this harsh world, young Tanjirou takes it upon himself to protect his family–until the day that everything is taken from him in a vicious slaughter. Now, all he has left is his sister, and she’s not even human anymore. Tanjiro sets out to become a demon slayer to avenge his family and cure his sister.

Genre: Adventure - Fantasy - Thriller

TV-MA with 44 total episodes

Tanjiro and Nezuko

You kind of already know what is going to happen in episode one, but that didn't stop it from catching me completely off guard. It does a great job of making you fall in love with Tanjiro and Nezuko's family and life. They live a simple life with a big family full of love. You can tell just within the first few minutes what an amazing big brother Tanjiro is. Once the first episode ended I already knew this anime had mastered the art of cliff hangers and I said what most of us do "Just one more episode"

Tanjiro

One of my pet peeves with a lot of shounen anime is the main character inherits an ability that automatically makes them the strongest character. You see them fight villains no one has been able to beat and outlast other characters that have been training their whole lives. That is not the case with Tanjiro. When he began his journey of becoming a demon slayer it took him years to master the techniques. He worked hard for his ability and throughout the show, he continues to train and learn. It brings a level of appreciation to all of the fight scenes.

The biggest thing that surprised me about demon slayer was the animation. The fight scenes are next level and I have never seen anything more epic and beautiful. With simple swords as weapons, the animators went all out attaching elements to the forms. On top of that, the demon's abilities were all extremely creative, making each fight completely unique and unpredictable. The combination of the two makes a fight scene that you are unable to look away from.

Season 1 - 26 episodes

Season 1 can be broken into a few smaller story arcs. The first arc is Tanjiro training to pass the demon slayer exam. This is a deep setup to the storyline and brings a lot of connection to our main protagonist.

The second story arc is introducing us to the main four. We learn about two more demon slayers that join Tanjiro in his journey to find a cure for his little sister Nezuko and eliminate any demon that is assigned to them to dispose of.

In the third arc, we see the main four going against their first powerful demon. We see all the development and practice that the characters have learned put to the test. We also discover that there is a reason most people choose to turn into a demon. Learning about the demon's sad backstories makes you connect to them and feel sorry for the choices they had to make. But also they eat people so you don't feel bad enough and still want them to be beaten.

We end season 1 meeting the hashira. They are the most powerful demon slayers who formed the demon slayer core. There are a lot of interesting characters in the hashira that we get excited to learn about.

Throughout every arc, it was next to impossible to not click the next episode. The writers are genius at leaving you on a cliffhanger. With that in mind be prepared to not just watch one episode of Demon Slayer.

Demon Slayer Mugen Train Movie or TV 7 episodes

Storyline: Tanjirou and the group have completed their rehabilitation training at the Butterfly Mansion, and they arrive at their next mission on the Mugen Train, where over 40 people have disappeared in a very short period. Tanjirou and Nezuko, along with Zenitsu and Inosuke, join one of the most powerful swordsmen within the Demon Slayer Corps, Flame Hashira Rengoku Kyoujurou, to face the demon aboard the Mugen Train on track to despair.

There are one of two ways to watch this story arc. I watched the movie version which is the same thing as the tv version just not broken up into episodes. This storyline was crazy. I don't know how to talk about the story without spoiling too much, but I will say this. This movie had some of the craziest fight scenes I had ever seen. Being an epic thriller it is also the most emotional story arc is a hard thing to accomplish, but they crushed it. I loved this movie more than the other seasons and highly recommend watching it as soon as you complete season 1.

Demon Slayer Entertainment District arc - 11 episodes

Storyline: Tanjiro and his friends accompany the Hashira Tengen Uzui to an entertainment district where Tengen’s female ninja agents were gathering information on a demon before they suddenly disappeared. To investigate, Tanjiro and the others disguise themselves as women to sneak in!

I started watching this at 10 pm which was a mistake. I couldn't turn it off til I finished at almost 2 am. The storyline was extremely interesting and again I have to give props for the cliffhangers. Every time you think you know what's going to happen there is another plot twist. In the movie, we see the flame hashira Rengoku battle and teach our characters new forms. In this storyline we meet the hashiraTengen Uzui, I wasn't the biggest fan of him. I felt like his big personality was a bit too much for me to connect with. But that would be my only complaint about this arc. It is entraining, funny, and has the most mind-blowing fight scenes.

There has been no announcement about a new season. But I am excited with how they have set up the story and I am eager to see how everything plays out.

RATINGS:

IMDB: 8.7/10

ANIMEPLANET: 4.5/5

My Review: This show really has it all. It is action-packed, with a great storyline and characters, but is also able to be funny and light-hearted. I am not upset I waited to watch it because I wouldn't have been emotionally able to handle the cliffhangers. I will say my only real complaint about the show is the character Zenitsu (The yellow-haired one) I guess he is supposed to be the comedic relief but he was just annoying to me. Other than that I am glad my sister made me watch demon slayer and I am excited to see where the franchise goes.

What were your thoughts on Demon Slayer?

Do you think it lived up to the hype?

Thanks for Reading!!

Subscribe for Anime Content

Follow AnimeTipz on Pinterest For More Demon Slayer Content

Studio Ghibli Annoucement

Did you grow up with movies like Spirited Away or Howls moving castle? or maybe you grew up with Star Wars or Indiana Jones? What would you say if I told you they are going to be working together??? After being bought by Disney Studio Ghibli Production hasn't come out with a movie in almost 10 years. Huge Studio Ghibli bombshell coming out of retirement to work on a new project with LucasFilm!! Check out Studio Ghibli and LucasFilm news!!

Bye for now

cosplayreviewtventertainment
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.