Geeks logo

Dave Chappelle Divides Opinion with His New Netflix Special, 'Sticks and Stones'

There are two kinds of people: Those who hate Chappelle's new special and those who love it

By Chris HearnPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by John Bauld/Flickr

With this review, I'm a bit late to the party. There has already been a whole lot said about the new Netflix Dave Chappelle special Sticks and Stones, and my opinion probably isn't needed. But, I'm going to throw it out there anyway.

There seems to be no middle ground when it comes to how people feel about this stand up comedy show. People either seem to love it and praise Dave Chappelle to no end and claim he is one of the best comedians out there. Heck, even fellow comedians think he's brilliant.

Then you have his critics who seem to loathe the special and particularly the jokes in it that can be seen as highly offensive, especially towards transgender people, Asians, and Micheal Jackson's sexual abuse accusers. That's about it. Love or hate. And that pretty much sums up America these days... a nation absolutely divided politically and socially.

Then along comes me. What did I think of Chappelle's show? Meh. It was pretty good. I laughed, especially at the stuff I probably shouldn't have laughed at. I couldn't help it. He just presented the offensive stuff in a hilarious way! What was I supposed to do? Suppress my laughter? So, I laughed.

That said, I'm not the biggest Chappelle fan. I think he's a good comedian, but I don't think he is a brilliant comedian. He's funny, yeah. But brilliant? Nah. He is what he is. Take it or leave it. I wouldn't rush to see his specials, but when there is so much talk about it, well, you just have to watch it. So, I did. And I am happy I did. Like I said, I laughed. And that, after all, is what comedy is supposed to do... make people laugh.

Part of the whole shtick here by Dave Chappelle seemed to be to create a special that was purposely in your face, anti-PC, anti-woke, and offensive. And, he is being celebrated for that stance by people who are tired of being told what they should and shouldn't laugh at. I'm looking at YOU, Vice and your article, "You Can Definitely Skip Dave Chappelle's New Netflix Special 'Sticks & Stones'." The thing is, Dave Chappelle is just doing what Dave Chappelle has always done. Nothing here has really changed other than society. Those that found him funny before probably still find him funny. Those that don't know him and aren't really open to comedy about sensitive topics probably won't.

If you happen to be offended by this special, well, you are more than entitled to feel that way. Of course he is offensive with some of his jokes, and you have the right to be offended. There is nothing wrong with being offended. Be offended all you want. And there are a good number of people who are, indeed, offended.

On the flip side, if you think this special is hilarious and laughed your buttocks off, then more power to you. Glad you enjoyed. You have done nothing wrong by watch this special and laughing. That is the point of the show, after all.

Here is the deal: Comedy is an art, and like all art, it's completely subjective. One person may love it, while another person hates it. That's okay. There is nothing wrong with that. We don't have to agree with one another when it comes to things like this. And any feelings about it are valid.

The thing is, though, I can't figure out why there is so much buzz and anger about this particular special. If you are looking for offensive, Chappelle isn't the worst you are going to find on Netflix. Check out Jimmy Carr. That dude is funny, but jaw-droppingly offensive. I was a thousand times more offended by his special. But I still laughed. I just couldn't help it.

comedy
Like

About the Creator

Chris Hearn

I'm a 47 year old writer, amateur photographer and amateur dad living in Winnipeg, MB, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.