Geeks logo

Daisy #1

Dark Horse Comics

By Steven LeitmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Daisy #1

Dark Horse Comics 2021

Written & Illustrated by Colin Lorimer

Coloured by Joana Lafuente & Anita Vu

Lettered by Jim Campbell

BETWEEN HEAVEN AND HELL!

A desperate mother's five-year search for her missing son leads her to the small town of Brimount and to the mysterious Phillips family. Daisy Phillips, like many teenagers, has a hard time fitting in, but not for the usual reasons. Daisy stands eight-and-a-half feet tall and is still growing, but her troubles with ill health, daily ridicule, and custom-made clothing are only the tip of the iceberg. Daisy may well be descended from a race of cannibalistic giants spawned from the outcasts of Heaven!

This is an utterly phenomenal introduction to the story. I had no idea what this was going to be about and honestly I had forgotten I had even ordered this because thanks to what I do, the review site, I read and review so many books that sometimes it is hard to keep track. What I noticed straight away is that it is absolutely gorgeously illustrated and I got excited to sit down and read this. The opening story that we hear threw me for a bit of a loop and as I made my way towards the ending it all made sense. Suddenly I was in a world that seems like one thing but in reality is another and I cannot wait for the next issue to come out and see where this is going to go next.

I am loving the way that this is being told. The story & plot development that we see through how the sequence of events unfold as well as how the reader learns information are presented exceptionally well. The character development that we see through the narration, the dialogue, the character interaction as well as how we see them act and react to the situation and circumstances which they encounter does a magnificent job in establishing the personalities that we see. The pacing is excellent and as it takes us through the pages introducing the characters, the story and the world they live in we want to see so much more.

I am pretty chuffed by the way we see this being structured and how the layers within the story begin to emerge and grow. I am also liking the way that we see the layers opening up new avenues to be explored. Daisy herself is one and of course father to these kids is another and not to mention the sheriff and the whole idea of the town all conspire to really engage the reader as they add depth, dimension and complexity to the story. How we see everything working together to create the story’s ebb & flow as well as how it moves the story forward are impeccably handled.

The interiors here are absolutely bloody gorgeous. The linework is exquisite and how we see the varying weights and techniques being utilised to create this level & quality of the detail we see within the work is truly extraordinary. How we see backgrounds enhance and expand the moments as well as how they work within the composition of the panels bring out the depth perception, sense of scale and the overall sense of size and scope to the story. The utilisation of the page layouts and how we see the angles and perspective in the panels show a remarkably talented eye for storytelling. The various hues and tones within the colours being utilised to create the shading, highlights and shadow work shows a phenomenal understanding of how colour works. I mean the blues, reds and the trees are just awe inspiring.

What at first I thought might be a case of gigantism may be something else entirely and I’m looking forward to seeing if the obvious is indeed what it appears to be. That I am so engaged and invested so quickly is amazing to me and this is due to the level & quality of the writing and characterisation not to mention that these interiors are mindbogglingly brilliant.

comics
Like

About the Creator

Steven Leitman

Just me talking about the comics I enjoy reading, ones that you might not know exist and spotlighting the indie creators that excite me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.