Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: TheRealWeaponX

Get to know this California-based cosplayer

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Greetings, Vocal readers. Happy New Year to everyone. A new decade has arrived and that means more cosplayer interviews, like the one I'm about to tell everyone about. For almost two years, I've had the pleasure of interviewing nearly 30 cosplayers. I got to know a lot of interesting things about them, especially the hobbies they do outside of cosplay. My first cosplayer spotlight of 2020 begins with TheRealWeaponX, a cosplayer from California that portrays the X-Men character, Wolverine, accurately and well. Before 2019 came to a close, I had the chance to interview him. I hope everyone enjoys it and get to know more about him.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What first drew you to doing cosplay?

TheRealWeaponX: I was first drawn to cosplay by my 11-year-old son four years ago. He wanted to go to a convention and dressed up as Deadpool and because he always told me that I looked like Wolverine, I should dress up as Wolverine, so I did and we went together here in Sacramento.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: How long have you been doing cosplay?

TheRealWeaponX: 2020 will be my fourth year.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What made you become a fan of Wolverine?

TheRealWeaponX: Hugh Jackman's portrayal of the character really inspired me to be the character. I was always a fan of Wolverine in the comics, but didn't read too much of the work. And quite frankly, wasn't too thrilled about the yellow spandex look, although I do like the blue and yellow contrast costumes. Further, I felt the backstory of Wolverine, a.k.a. Logan, I could relate to and had very similar traits. Even the Wolverine is 5'3" and I'm 5'6". I felt his unique look and stature was very similar to my own, which made it easier and more acceptable for me to relate to him as an individual and as a man.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What feedback have you received so far on you cosplaying as Wolverine?

TheRealWeaponX: 99% of the feedback that I got from playing the Wolverine character has been positive, upbeat, uplifting, and encouraging. I can only recall one situation where a con person, not a cosplayer, criticized me that I wasn't tall enough like Hugh Jackman to be Wolverine. It didn't bother me at all. In fact, it kinda made me smile. I guess you can never please everybody.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: I've noticed that you rate different movies on your IG stories. How enjoyable is that for you?

TheRealWeaponX: So up until now, I used to work at a movie theater and I would see all my movies for free. I am definitely biased on the type of movies I like, but I do enjoy movies that are outside of my normal liking. I feel I have the critiquing ability from story line, plot points, characters, editing, lighting, dialogue, and overall direction of a story or movie to give it a fair grade. And I would say out of all of my movie critique grades, over 90% of my followers agree with my grades. I have had many followers doubt me in the past, whereas they went and saw the movie, then message me back telling me how right I was. It's a good feeling, but at the same time, I will let people judge for themselves and what movies they like. I'm just trying to save people a few bucks from having to sit through and watch a horrible movie.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: If you had one piece of advice for those who want to cosplay, what would it be?

TheRealWeaponX: I guess my first piece of advice for any cosplayer is what is the goal? For example, when I cosplay, it's not so that I can be high and mighty or spotlight myself. There's nothing that makes me happy than to see kids and children and yes, adults, see me in my cosplay and receive the reaction that they do in a positive way where they want to take a photo with me. As a cosplayer, you have many different avenues in which to cosplay. Is it for self? Gratification? Is it to walk around and take pictures of other cosplayers? So may advice to them or to future cosplayers is what do you want to get out of your cosplay?

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Do you have any cosplayers you look up to as role models or inspirations?

TheRealWeaponX: I think that everyone have cosplayers that they look up to or inspire them to be better or do better or create better cosplays. For me naturally, I do. There are at least four or five I can't think of the top of my head right now. Male or female, it doesn't matter. In a person's cosplay, I look for originality, creativity, authenticity, anything that provides a wow factor.

Texxx-Man Cosplay: Which cons do you enjoy the most and which ones would you like to attend in the future?

TheRealWeaponX: Well here in California, we do get some of the biggest cons ever, but I must say my favorite cons I've ever been are Wonder Con in L.A. and San Jose Silicon Valley Comicon. San Diego Con was okay, but because it's so big and there's so much going on, it almost takes away from the fun and enjoying the con. San Diego Con is a lot like going to Disneyland: you wanna get on all the rides, but you know, it's just not gonna happen. You spent all day in lines, it's way overcrowded, and honestly hard to enjoy the day. With somewhat smaller cons and even for example, L.A. Con, when they're smaller and even more spread out, it's easier to see other cosplayers, take pictures, and enjoy the cons. I have three new comic cons for 2020 that hopefully I will get to. They are New York Comic Con, ACE Con, and Las Vegas Con.

TheRealWeaponX is one the nicest and talented cosplayers I've talked to on social media. I appreciate him for taking the time to be interviewed by yours truly, another fellow cosplayer. Be sure to follow him on Instagram, @therealweaponx, to follow his amazing con adventures and awesome pics. You can follow me on social media and the info to all of my pages are in my bio. If you enjoyed any of my articles, including this one, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. It'll help me and other Vocal content creators to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So, be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators. I'll have more cosplayer interviews throughout this year, so be on the lookout for those. Let's make 2020 amazing and be filled with adventures, fun, and positivity.

Photo by Waterwalker_mo Photography

interview
1

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.