Geeks logo

Cosplayer Spotlight: Joshua Meeks

A cosplayer full of happiness and friendships

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

It has been a month since I've done a cosplayer interview, but now, I'm back to do some more before I attend GlitchCon in almost a week. If you haven't checked out my last cosplayer interview, you can click on the link below. I recently got a chance to interview Joshua Meeks, via my cosplay page on Facebook. The reason why I interview cosplayers is because I want my followers and everyone on Vocal to get to know more about them. Other than that, I hope you enjoy my interview with Joshua.

Cosplay Interview with Gary Prudhoe

Texxx-Man Cosplay: What are some random things that everyone should know about you?

Gary Prudhoe: Some random things about me: I am 30 and have been cosplaying since my early 20s. I am the man, the myth, the mortician. Yes, I work full time as a mortician, which takes up most of my time. I am a father of two amazing kids. I am also a licensed pagan priest, which means I'm ordained as a pagan priest and can perform clergy duties, but I do not lead any groups or covens. I am also a reiki master. If you don't know what that is, you should check it out! I have a website for that.

When did you first start becoming interested in cosplay and why you love it so much?

I first started being interested in cosplay at a young age, when I would see pictures of Comic Con or see it displayed on TV. I always wanted to be able to dress up like them and have fun, but thought it was out of my grasp, until I met my now ex-wife, who helped me get my first cosplay started. I was Italy from Hetalia. From there, I began my cosplay adventure. I think what really attracts me to cosplaying is the fact that I can get in cosplay and become a different person. I don't have all the worries and struggles that I do when I'm out of cosplay and it's so much easier to meet new people and make really good friends.

How did cosplay change your life?

Before cosplay, I used to be a depressed guy who just mulled through daily life. It was hard to make friends, as I'm not normally social. With cosplay, it has helped me break out of my shell and become social, which has really helped with the depression. Now, I'm happier than ever and have some friendships I'm sure will last a lifetime.

What are some of your favorite cosplays you have done?

I think my favorite cosplay I have done is the one I currently do, which is Bakugou from My Hero Academia. I also really enjoyed being Miroku from Inuyasha.

Do you have a favorite fandom that you love the most?

I know I am a bit old school when it comes to anime and some of my favorite fandoms show that. I really enjoyed Inuyasha, Cowboy Bebop, My Hero Academia, and Fruits Basket. Even us old dogs can learn new tricks.

Do have any cons that you love to attend and which ones would you like to attend in the future?

I really love attending AnimeCon Arkansas in Little Rock. Its a pretty big con and everyone there is just terrific. I actually used to go to school with the girl that runs it and I was in a cosplay group that she ran before the con. We went out separate ways, but I'm so proud of her for going after her dreams and making them a reality. I also enjoyed That Geeky Con in Harrison, AR. This year was their first year and it was outstanding! I think in the future, I would like to return to Arkansas Anime Fest and definitely attend some of the bigger conventions out there.

Which cosplayers have inspired you the most?

There are really so many cosplayers who have inspired me. The group I mentioned before had some awesome cosplayers who inspired me as well as just seeing some others at conventions. I think what really inspires me the most are the cosplayers on TikTok!

If you had any advice for those who want to cosplay, what would it be?

Don't be afraid to follow your heart. If you want to do it, go for it! It doesn't have to be expensive or fancy. Closet cosplays are awesome too! The more effort you put into your costume, the more you will love it and the better you get at it. Live life the way you want to live it and have fun! There is an entire community behind you to lift you up and help you out. Feel free to add me at MythicMortician. My cosplay Instagram account is @deadlycosplayer. I'll also be song a couple of pictures of me as Bakugou and Todoroki from My Hero Academia.

If you like any of the articles I've written so far, feel free to send me a a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It helps me and other Vocal content creators create better stories, and you'll be supporting us in a positive way. I've received so many tips, and I thank you for supporting my content.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.