Geeks logo

'Coco' Is One of Pixar's Best, Providing Stunning Visuals, and a Great Story to Follow

Though you have to travel far, remember this review...

By Jonathan SimPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

If Pixar's been getting you a little twitchy with their recent movies that have been widely considered subpar (The Good Dinosaur and Cars 3), you're about to get a whole new perspective with their newest movie, Coco.

So, I'm gonna be giving some initial thoughts on the film and provide a few thoughts on the film. I don't have a structure planned for this article, so I do not yet know whether or not I'll have spoilers in this article, so I'll just update this area later.

UPDATE:

Let's start with the trailer.

I was impressed by the story, and I could tell this movie was going to be about a boy who had a dream and would do anything to pursue it. And I was REALLY impressed by this shot:

Ah, once again, it's Pixar working their advanced animation magic. You gotta love their animation.

I mean, The Good Dinosaur was a good movie, but the animation was FANTASTIC in that movie.

Then, when the new trailer came out, I was a tiny bit skeptical.

Now, don't get me wrong, it looked like a pretty good movie, but I was worried that it wouldn't be something we would remember. I wasn't sure if it would be a Pixar classic like Ratatouille, Up, or The Incredibles. The question I was worried about was: would we remember this movie?

I watched it, and to put it short, yes. I knew that Pixar could tell a story, and this movie was even better than I expected it to be.

I loved the story of the young boy chasing a dream. He has a role model and he crosses over to a new world, where he finds his ancestors, and he has to learn a few lessons before returning home.

There is also the character of Hector.

The main character, 12-year-old Miguel, meets Hector in the Land of the Dead, and he enlists his help to find Ernesto de la Cruz. They end up forming a friendship, and we later learn that Hector had to desert his family to pursue music.

By doing this, he had to leave his daughter behind, and he is extremely determined to bring his picture back on the ofrenda before she forgets about him forever.

His determination and how much he cares for her is what drew me to this character. If you're not drawn to a character like Miguel or you don't find him as an interesting protagonist, chances are, you're going to like Hector.

This was also an innovative idea from Pixar. They took a holiday popular in Mexican culture, Día de los Muertos (day of the dead), and they made an entire story about it with huge respect for the holiday, and by the way, I actually knew about the holiday BEFORE watching this or The Book of Life.

Exactly.

This movie has a great story, stunning visuals, cultural awareness and respect, and it has an awesome holiday, which its built around. Not only that, but the ending is pretty emotional, and "Remember Me" is a song that actually matters in the film, unlike "Let It Go."

You can still watch Coco in theaters today, and soon, you can get it on DVD and Blu-Ray. Wait...do people still use those things? Well, you'll be able to get it off iTunes and Amazon Video, or wherever you get your movies from these days.

And that's it!

review
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Sim

Film critic. Lover of Pixar, Harry Potter, Star Wars, Marvel, DC, Back to the Future, and Lord of the Rings.

For business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.