Geeks logo

Clouds of Sils Marie - A Movie Review

'Clouds of Sils Marie' is an astonishingly investive film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

You can imagine whatever you want. Always explore your options.

Clouds of Sils Marie is a 2014 film. A film star is asked to reprise a role that started her movie career. Going into isolation with her assistant to rehearse scenes, Marie rediscovers who she is, coming face-to-face with uncomfortable reflections from the past.

Clouds of Sils Marie is an astonishingly investive film. I enjoyed this film. It has become one of my new favorites which I will gladly watch again. Studying norms of an actor's life and rehearsal process, this film carries an ambiguous nature that only makes the story better.

I was entranced by the performances dictated by Juliette Binoche and Kristen Stewart. This film was Binoche’s own idea. From the three films that I have seen Binoche in, she is an amazing actress. As is Stewart who has had a prominent career as an actress. I like how they explore different traits.

Establishing their characters, Binoche and Stewart are the whole movie. They did an incredible job working out a believable dynamic. In one scene, when their characters are rehearsing a scene I was saying to myself in my head how great these actors are.

Their friendship reminded me of the friendship I have with my best friend. Enjoying conversations about movies, analyzing between the lines, and helping one another solve problems, all their interactions were fun to watch.

Chloe Grace Moretz also appears in the film. She didn’t get much screentime, and I wish that she did. Portraying Maria’s nemesis in the acting world, Moretz was given good direction for her role. Briefly, Maria and Jo-Ann have a meeting together. There is no toxicity. Another reason is that you never know who admires you.

The film is well-cast. Other credits include Lars Eidinger, Johnny Flynn, Angela Winkler, Hanns Zischler, and Brady Corbet. Everyone has a healthy relationship in the film. It’s nice to see because in every film about movie-making somebody is trying to top another talent.

I am so jealous that the actors stayed in a gorgeous mountain area surrounded by a lake. Filming took place in the Alps. This is a place where you’d find me writing stories or reading. It was so peaceful. The scenery was nice whenever they went for a car ride. The enlightening music made good use of the tone.

Olivier Assayas’s astute filmmaking was conducted with a close eye. All scenes were well-directed. The transitions were my favorite element in Clouds of Sils Marie. Fading to black, scenes were quick and to the point. We don’t have to see the full scene. Assayas used creative edits for an effective scene when Valentine (Stewart) is having a meltdown while driving.

Clouds of Sils Marie is a look into the world of acting. Actors always need to analyze their scripts before starting a role. Roles affect you in some way, whether personally or to an audience. It’s the reason why we admire actors. Choose roles carefully. Watching the process of rehearsing, deciding, and analyzing made me respect the work of an actor all the more.

One of my favorite parts of this film is its ambiguous nature. This spectacular edit makes you think if one of the characters actually existed. Now, the movie is different on a second watch when thinking about ideas. Whatever the theory, there is no wrong answer. That’s my favorite part about films.

Clouds of Sils Marie stays with you long after the film is over. I recommend that you find this film and watch it. You will not regret it.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.