Geeks logo

Children of the Sea

Anime Movie Review

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Recently I have been getting interested in anime movies. I have noticed more anime movies coming out that aren't connected to a series. Growing up I loved watching Studio Ghibli and contribute a lot of my anime addiction to those movies.

But I would hardly watch anime movies unless they were connected to a series I was watching.

This year however I have found a new love for anime movies. Netflix especially surprised me with some amazing original movies. I found children of the sea on Netflix, Although it is not a Netflix original. It looked really familiar and after some searching, I remembered I had read the manga a long time ago. I remembered the art in the manga and how incredible it was and I wanted to see how they brought that art to the big screen. So without remembering much about the story I pushed play.

Storyline: Ruka is a young girl whose parents are separated and whose father works in an aquarium. When two boys, Umi and Sora, who were raised in the sea by dugongs, are brought to the aquarium, Ruka feels drawn to them and begins to realize that she has the same sort of supernatural connection to the ocean that they do. Umi and Sora's special power seems to be connected to strange events that have been occurring more and more frequently, such as the appearance of sea creatures far from their home territory and the disappearance of aquarium animals around the world.

The storyline of this film was a little all over the place. I was honestly lost half of the time and then as soon as I thought I was back on track it took another turn. As a huge fan of studio ghibli, I love unique and out-there stories, but this one was a little too confusing for my taste. If you like magical fantasy, where nothing has to make much sense you will love this movie. With that said it was still entertaining to watch.

If you are into art and animation you HAVE to watch children of the sea. I could not believe an anime could be this beautiful. It makes perfect sense why this movie won an award for best visual and sound effects. Here are a few pictures to show you what I am talking about.

The characters were drawn in this book-like style. I felt as if I was watching the manga come to life. But the breathing-taking art is with the aquatic life.

I cannot imagine how hard it is to animate water alone. These creators really let loose and brought an underwater world alive.

The art in the last 30 minutes of the movie is almost unreal how beautiful it is. I have no idea how animators brought such a masterpiece to life.

Info: 1hr 51 min

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy

Ratings:

IMDb: 6.5/10

Animeplanet: 3.5/5

My Review: One of the biggest reasons I love anime is that I love to be teleported into another world. Children of the sea brought an amazing and beautiful world to life. Full of possibility and wonder. If you love that breathtaking feeling when you are looking at art you will love this movie. I might even rewatch it without sound just to enjoy the art again. The story and characters aren't bad, Personally, I just didn't get the overall plot. The characters were interesting and even more interesting to look at but they really lacked depth. If you are looking for an entertaining fantasy movie I would give Children of the sea a watch.

What were your thoughts on Children of the Sea?

Do you think it's worth a watch? Why or why not?

Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below

Follow Animetipz !!

Thank you for reading!!

cosplayentertainmentmoviereview
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.