Geeks logo

Breaking Down the Mystery: The Scarcity of Asian BL Series on Netflix

Taking a deep-dive into the perplexing, yet fascinating underrepresentation of Asian Boy Love drama series on everyone's favorite streaming platform.

By Nathan ChenPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Breaking Down the Mystery: The Scarcity of Asian BL Series on Netflix
Photo by Hà Nguyễn on Unsplash

So, here I am, lounging on my comfy couch with a bowl of popcorn, ready to go on an emotional rollercoaster through the lens of the Asian Boy Love (BL) drama universe. But wait, what's this? Netflix, my trusty binge-watching buddy, seems to have hit a snag. Where are all the Asian BL series?

In a world where diversity and representation are keys to building a comprehensive global narrative, it's a bit puzzling why Netflix—usually the poster child of inclusivity—has a scarcity of Asian BL series.

Now, let's make it clear; this is not an attack on Netflix, but rather, an investigation to solve a mystery that seems as puzzling as the sudden disappearance of my motivation to hit the gym after New Year's.

An Unresolved Mystery

First off, let's define what Asian BL series are for those unfamiliar with the term. In essence, they're a sub-genre of Asian drama that focuses on romantic relationships between male characters, often with storylines that revolve around LGBTQ+ themes.

I mean, why wouldn't Netflix want to have more of these? They're like a mix of sizzling romance and raw emotions, like the K-drama equivalent of putting hot sauce on your ice cream. Sounds weird, but trust me, it works.

But, the reality seems to be different. When I check out Netflix, I feel like I’m exploring a desert, devoid of Asian BL series. A handful are there, sure, but it’s hardly a feast.

Now let me tell you, if we're talking about representation, the ratio is so off, it's like seeing a single dad joke in an entire comedy show. And trust me, I've been there.

By Hisu lee on Unsplash

The Possible Culprits

So, why is this happening?

There's a little thing called censorship. Oh boy, did I just open a Pandora's box! This tricky little beast can be a double-edged sword. It's like your mom when she walks into your room unannounced—sometimes it's with cookies, sometimes it's to tell you to clean up your mess.

Many Asian countries, despite having rich BL content, have stringent censorship laws. And these, my friend, are the metaphorical hoops that Netflix has to jump through to bring you the content you love. In this scenario, it's like Netflix is playing a real-life game of Mario, but instead of rescuing Princess Peach, they're trying to secure rights for a hot new BL series.

Another factor is the issue of licensing and distribution rights. Believe me, it's more complicated than assembling IKEA furniture. Different regions have different regulations, and the process of acquiring rights can be like navigating through a labyrinth. It's no walk in the park; it's more like running a marathon backward.

So, What Now?

Here's the part where I put on my problem-solving hat. It's a metaphorical hat, of course. I don't own a hat.

While it's no easy task to overcome these challenges, that doesn't mean we should be denied our heart-wrenching romances and tear-jerking storylines. Netflix needs to step up their game. It's like the time I tried to learn salsa; you stumble, you trip, but in the end, you just have to keep moving to the rhythm.

It might seem like a tall order, but it's not impossible. And it can start by Netflix focusing on co-producing more Asian BL series, which could potentially bypass many licensing and censorship issues.

Netflix has successfully co-produced shows like Stranger Things, so who's to say they can't strike gold with an Asian BL series?

A Few Must-Haves

Before I wrap this up, let me just drop a few Asian BL series titles that Netflix seriously needs to consider:

"TharnType": It's like the "Game of Thrones" of BL series. An absolute must!

"SOTUS: The Series": Think "Pride and Prejudice" but with a modern, gay twist. Sign me up!

"2gether": It's so addictive, you'll need to clear your calendar.

"HIStory3: Trapped": If you're into crime dramas with a side of romance, this one's for you.

So there you have it, folks. This is the story of a loyal Netflix viewer, on a quest for more Asian BL drama representation. Netflix, if you're reading this, do us a solid, eh? It's time to make some serious power moves. After all, life’s too short for missed opportunities and lackluster streaming libraries.

Ending Note: Can someone pass me the remote? I think I've talked enough. It's time to dive back into the limited, yet cherished, world of Asian BL series on Netflix. I hope next time, I'll be lost in a sea of options, rather than rummaging through a desert.

reviewmovieentertainmentCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Chen

I'm Nathan Chen, a queer Asian writer advocating for LGBTQ+ issues, Asian representation, millennial lifestyle, work life & mental health. Let's explore life's complexities together!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.