Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: August 2021 Reads

Fabulous fiction picks for you to read!

By SamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It was a super fictional August for me! There’s nothing better than an awesome novel that can keep you engrossed the whole way through. I had three very interesting and thrilling picks this month, and I’m excited to dive right into the reasons why you should read them.

Billy Summers by Stephen King

Stephen King is my favorite author. He has an extraordinary talent for rich, compelling characters, engaging plots, and language that anyone can relate to. I’ve all his books, so you know I mean it when I say Billy Summers is one of my favorites that I’ve read since The Outsider.

As usual, I won’t go too deep into the plot; it’s best left discovered for yourself. What you need to know is that Billy Summers is a war veteran turned hitman, doing jobs to take out bad people. When his last job goes wrong, Billy has to deal with the fallout of that situation, as well as contend with an unexpected friendship along the way.

I. Was. Invested. Billy’s story was something I wanted to see through to the end. He felt three dimensional. He was a protagonist who wasn’t completely good or bad. I was rooting for him, and I cared about what happened along his journey.

I recommend this book for literally anyone. It’s a great mystery/thriller book. King is known for horror, but this one doesn’t have much of that horror element at all. It’s about characters in tough situations making the best of what they have, and the end will give you an emotional kick that will stick with you after you put this one down.

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

This was definitely a darker book than I thought it’d be when I started. A tale of trauma and repression, Luckiest Girl Alive was still an incredibly compelling read. The prose is biting and hits hard. It works with the tone really well; things got darker and darker the more I read, yet still managed to give me an ending that I felt was justified and satisfying.

It’s told in first person from the main character, Ani, and she’s a fantastic narrator. You don’t quite get to know her well at all until the very end. Like Billy Summers, she’s not completely faultless all the time, but she’s also so sympathetic. Even if she isn’t quite your cup of tea, you’ll want to stand by her side from start to finish.

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

This was a fun book for me to read. I Am Number Four is a YA novel I’ve had on my list for years now. I finally sat down and listened to the audiobook, and I’m happy I did. Neil Kaplan, the narrator, did a fantastic job with it, and I plan on continuing the series in audiobook format because of him. This is the first book in a series, and it’s about an alien conflict that takes place on earth. The main character, John, aka Number Four, is a Loric alien on the run from the fearsome Mogadorians during his teenage years. Again, no real big details here from me. I enjoyed learning about the lore and rules of this sci-fi universe as the story progressed.

I thought this was a pretty inventive and fun read. The powers John possesses aren’t exactly the most original, but they made for some great action scenes and I liked seeing him come into his own. The supporting cast was also great at interacting with each other. There’s a healthy dose of classic high school drama that’s simply irresistible as well. I’d say if you’re looking for a thrilling YA series, this is a good one to explore.

Fiction is amazing. The possibilities for what types of stories you can get into is limitless. The three above books are each wildly different and give you a taste of completely different writing styles. They’re all worth your time, so happy reading to all!

literature
1

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.