Geeks logo

Book Review: The Shadow of the Wind

by Carlos Ruiz Zafron

By Veronica TraggiaiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

"There are worse prisons than words."

Rating: 10/10

Synopsis:

When 10 year old Daniel Sempere visited the Cemetery of Forgotten Books with his father, he had no idea it would forever change his life. The book he finds there, "The Shadow of the Wind", consumes his life; as does its author Julian Carax and his mysterious past. As Daniel’s life slowly begins too mimic that of Carax’s, he finds out that someone has been burning this illusive author’s novels. Soon Daniel and all his loved ones are in danger and he’s forced to decide whether or not solving the mystery is worth it.

Read If You Liked: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolano

My Thoughts:

One of my favorite sub-genres of literature to read is books about books. There is something so strong about the connection I feel when reading about a character as passionate about reading and the art of literature as I am. Whether it's a story about a group of feisty librarians, a meet-cute at a book club, or a mythical novel that sends the protagonist on a mysterious quest, I love them all! That is the mindset that initially drew me to this book, and I am so glad it did.

The Shadow of the Wind has become one of my favorite books. It is vividly written and detailed, with characters you wish you could jump into the pages to protect from all of the wild situations they find themselves in. It also has twists and turns in it that I never would have seen coming, not in a million years. There is nothing about this story that feels predictable or tired. The plot is intricate yet it manages, for the most part, to not be confusing.

The story follows Daniel throughout his life as he grows into a young man, stemming from his life-changing encounter with the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. It also focuses on the people he meets along the way and the connections he forms with them. All of the characters, both major and minor, are detailed and come alive in their own special ways. From the small Sempere family made up of Daniel and his father Fermin, to Clara and the Aguilars, no one felt pushed to the background. While set in Barcelona after the Spanish Civil War, it was a lot more hopeful than books about the aftermath of war tend to be. It is an illustration of how one can find beauty, love, excitement, and human connection even in the darkest of times.

I loved the initial idea of a book cemetery and a race to stop an author’s entire legacy from being burned away, but The Shadow of the Wind is also so much more than that. It is book of mystery, romance, deceit, and familial bonds. There are so many layers wrapped around themselves in this story that it was almost difficult for me to disentangle myself from it and step back out into the real world. When I finished, it left me with a strong melancholic feeling because while I was happy with how it ended, I was sad to say goodbye to these wonderful characters. I had spent so much time with Sempere family and felt so close to them. I had started to see these characters as my friends who now had to leave me. But is that not the mark of a truly good book, that you do not want to put it down and are sad when it ends? If, so then this is a truly good book that I look forward to revisiting again and again.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Traggiai

Hi! I'm Veronica, a 23 year old freelance writer and editor. I love to read and write and write about the books I read! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.