Geeks logo

Book Review - The Frequency of Us

Can Love survive War, Space, & Time?

By RRK ReadsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Namo Namaha friends. In this post, I'll be reviewing The Frequency of Us by Keith Stuart. A World War II historic fictional novel that has love and hope at its core. Thank you to Little Brown Book Group and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of this novel.

Book Name - The Frequency of Us

Author - Keith Stuart

Genre - Fiction

Category - Historical / World War II

Year of publication - March 21, 2021

Publication house - Little Brown Book Group

Goodreads rating - 4.25

Synopsis

This is a two-timeline narration story. One part is from the current timeline i.e. 2008 and another is from the world war II timeline. In 1942 Will finds himself in a bomb blast while trying to save a neighbor kid. When he comes to, he finds the world different from how he knew, and worst of all, his wife Elsa has disappeared and people are saying she's just a figment of his imagination and that he never had a wife. Will spends decades as a guy who's lost it when Laura a troubled girl herself arrives at his doorstep to help him as his carer. Can this bumbling girl help the 87-year-old regain his sanity and make sense of his life before and after that bomb blast?

Plot - 4/5

The plot was very engaging. I cannot claim to know the scientific accuracy behind the concepts mentioned in this book (It's not very heavy, don't worry) but I liked the plot and the story. It made sense to me. It also served the purpose of feeding me a good, entertaining, heartwrenching, and satisfying story. Am good with that.

Pacing - 4.5/5

The pacing was excellent. I was thinking, like other historical fiction novels, this too will sag in the middle and pick up in the end. But I am surprised and happy to say that this book didn't have the lagging middle problem. The author has maintained an even and steady pacing throughout the story, like a good cup of coffee that's warm from the beginning to finish.

Characters - 4/5

I didn't get attached to any of the characters. I probably might even forget all about them by next week but I still found the characters to be very well thought out and written about. Especially the relationship between Laura & Will, Will & Elsa, and Laura and her mother were heartwarming, good models that let me sink slowly into the story.

Set-up - 4/5

I am not a huge set-up person. I couldn't care less for descriptions of places, monuments, etc. My brain generally just casually skips over any such descriptions, be it about people, places, architecture, or weather. I cannot be bothered to read it with any interest. So I cannot judge the set-up accurately in this case, but whatever was there in the book worked for me and was not overdone.

Writing - 4.5/5

Writing is very approachable and good. I didn't have any trouble following through the timelines nor did I find the characters' names or stories confusing. I am surprised I haven't read this author before. An author with excellent potential indeed.

Overall rating - 4.2

Objective Rating - Invest grade - Book worth buying and adding to your collection.

Subjective Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you want to learn more about my rating system, click here.

So those were my thoughts on The Frequency of Us. Are you planning to read it? Which are your favorite historic fictional books? Let's catch up on my SM channels @twitter, @instagram, or @goodreads.

You can even join me at my book club in discord or @ bookclubz, and buddy read some books with me. Let's keep the bookish conversation going.

You can also check out my Youtube channel where I air my bookish thoughts.

Till then, stay safe and blessed. Om Shanti. 🙏

Original post from my blog here @: https://rrkreads.com/book-review-the-frequency-of-us/

literature
Like

About the Creator

RRK Reads

Booktuber, Blogger, & Reviewer. I juggle between keeping up with my kids and ever growing pile of books. 📧 [email protected]

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuwbGiuqFP5QrBdeP9aCvlg

https://rrkreads.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.