Geeks logo

Book Review

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

By Devon ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Picture by me

I read How to Hang a Witch a few months ago. I found the novel on Bookoutlet and it was one of the first ones in my package that I read. If you love mysteries, plus ghost romances-- this is the book to read.

It is a YA novel, so no need to worry about crazy content-- although it is a little spooky. The characters are developed amazingly, especially the ghost character who is one of my favorites.

How to Hang a Witch is based on a girl named Sam who moves to Boston with her stepmom, Vivian, while her dad is in a mysterious coma. Her family, Cotton specifically, has history in this town: direct involvment in the Salem Witch Trials. Because of people always getting hurt around her, Sam goes on a chase with help from a ghost (Elijah) to figure out if there is a curse on her and her family.

I love the fact that Adriana included a ghost in her story, because those type of novels don't get as much recognition as they should. The way she developed Sam and Elijah's relationship was amazing to me. I didn't think that things would escalate the way they did, but as unexpected as it was-- I loved it!

I also love the details Adriana included from back in the old days when the Trials were going on. She includes flashbacks that vividly depict events from the Trials, and does an amazing job doing so.

The mystery she involves throughout her story is a page turner and what kept me reading. She adds to the mystery with each page-- I had so many people in my head that could be the cause of everything happening.. besides who it actually was. The surprise at the end was.... refreshing, to say the least. I miss a good twist in a novel, one that really surprises you.

About the characters:

Sam- I didn't like that she would jump to conclusions too much. I also didn't like that she wouldn't trust her neighbor, Jaxon, with anything that was happening. I understood to a point, but he was literally the only student there for her. The only one not judging. That should've given her a reason to trust him.

Jaxon- I loved how good of a friend he tried being to Sam, even fi in the end he ended up not being able to trust her. He is a loyal person to be involved with, but can be serious when needed. He puts Sam in her place a few times, and I like that about him.

Elijah- Literally, my favorite chacter in the novel. I absolutely love the ghost romances, and this is definitely one of them. Elijah is the ghost that helps Sam, but also happens to develop actual feelings for her. At first, he is distant and to the point. But after spending some time with Sam, he lets loose more and more. I love the manners her presents, because he's from a time where those were important. I also love the protectiveness he ends up having on Sam.

I will say it over and over, I love the romance in this story. Sam develops feelings not only for Elijah, but some for Jaxon as well. My favorite romance though has to be the one with Elijah. It's definitely a tearjerker, so be prepared for that.

The ending of the novel will have you surprised, sad, and happy all at once. There is deifnitely a major twist at the end that will make you love the book even more, in my opinion.

I highly recommend picking this book up, wherever you can find it. Read it ASAP. Amazing read. The best book I've read in months.

literature
2

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.