Geeks logo

Book Review: Long Overdue at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers

My Honest Opinion

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was given a free e-copy of this novel by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

A glowing wood stove, a cozy log cabin, and shelves full of books are all Rain Wilmot needs to ride out the Wisconsin winter, now that she's made her family's Lofty Pines library her year-round home. But the warm-hearted librarian's blood runs cold when local man, Wallace Benson, is found dead during the annual Ice Fishing Jamboree. After Benson's body is found in his ice shanty, Rain recalls that she recently saw the victim in her library, borrowing a few cookbooks to prepare for the fishing tournament's communal "chili dump." She later finds these same books returned to the library's drop box, with an enigmatic note from Benson to Rain. As Rain seeks to understand the message, the prime suspect becomes Rain's friend Nick, who was the last person to see Wallace alive and who returned to the Jamboree with a nasty cut on his hand. The knife found in his tackle box only makes Nick's troubles worse. But Rain keeps fishing for other suspects. Was the killer Danny, who lost his arm to a logging accident involving Wallace? Or Danny's bitter father, whose dreams of retirement were dashed by his son's accident? With the help of her friends Julia and Jace, Rain sets out to hook the real culprit and clear Nick's name. But can her sleuthing skills protect her from a killer who'd like to take her out of circulation? (Goodreads synopsis)

I love how everyone adores the library. I love how active the Lakers were about walking in and finding something to do in a winter storm. Basically, I love how the library is privately owned (no board to cause unnecessary migraines), and that it is becoming a huge part of the community. Its nice that the author includes lake events into the story alongside the library. It gives the story a complete and peaceful environment. The addition of the Franklin stove, and the bar made me envious for a cup of hot cocoa.

I have a worry for future books concerning Jace and his new “adversary”. I am begging the author, please please please do not create a rival character who is going to hate the amatuers and basically start ignoring everything they say and do. The biggest pet peeve I have with detective novels is the lack of cooperation and harmony between characters. (Father Brown is a prime example of lack of harmony between the amatuer and the authority.)

The ending made me cringe a bit. I could not believe that these two women would willing go to a potential murderer’s home, but one of them never has her cell phone. Neither women had their cell phones in the first book, and then Rain needed her cell phone in two life and death situations, and she didn’t have it? I found that extremely hard to believe. Especially in the 21st century when everyone is hooked to them. I also feel like Rain has no sense of self-preservation, especially when it came to Julia. Julia was obviously not thinking clearly, and yet Rain seemed to acquiesce to Julia’s mood swings. There were a couple of sections that I wish Rain had left Julia behind.

There are some repetitive dialogs that feel awkward, but it has improved from the first book. There are also some unnecessary descriptions, like hand gestures, that again don’t take anything away from the story, but just feel oddly out of place.

Overall I rate this novel 4 out of 5 stars.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.