Geeks logo

Biggest mistakes made on Snatch Game

Looking at some of the worst performances and what mistakes were made on Rupaul's Drag Race, Snatch Game

By Mara HurstPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

We all know and love the snatch game on Rupaul's Drag Race! Every season the fans look forward to seeing which queens are able to portray another celebrity and make us crack up as well. But in every season, there's at least two Queens who were not able to do the Snatch Game justice. They leave us with second-hand embarrassment. And in this article, I will be giving a run down of some of the worst Snatch Game characters and what mistakes they made along the way. By no means do I think I could do any better, and I don't want these queens to feel bad. But they know what they did. This is not going to be in any particular order as well, I am just listing them as I feel I should.

1. Brooklyn Heights as Celine Dion

Brooklyn did not do well for her Snatch game, and disappointed her Canadian fans with this terrible rendition of Celine Dion. You could tell the girl made a small effort with the backwards suit and hair. The overall look was pretty well done, however everything else fell flat. Her accent was far from French-Canadian, as a Canadian myself I was extremely confused. Sometimes not doing a good accent helps play up the comedy, but not in Brooklyn's case. On top of that none of her jokes landed! She tried to throw in some French, but it just did not work. Not to mention she spoke over Rupaul at one point and we all know that is a huge no-no. Speaking over him doesn't help your case ever. Now prior to the actual Snatch game, Ru was questioning Brooklyn's abilities in the work room. And when Mama Ru does that you should probably change your celebrity. The only time I've seen him doubt someone and have the Queen do fantastically well is Gigi Goode as Maria the Robot.

2. Naomi Smalls as Tiffany Pollard

Poor Naomi! I really think if she stuck to her gut and went with Whoopie Goldberg she would have killed the snatch game! But unfortunately, Naomi psyched herself out when Bob the Drag Queen announced she was thinking of doing Whoopie as well. Naomi's last second choice to change her celebrity was not good at all and sent her into the bottom two against Gia Gunn. During the snatch game, Ru tried throwing Naomi some bones to help her but the poor girl was so nervous she didn't even realize. Now to be honest I had no idea who Tiffany Pollard was but I know she was not happy with Naomi's portrayal.

3. Gia Gunn as Kim Kardashian

Oh Gia. It is no secret I am not at all a fan of Gia Gunn. But I couldn't help but feel a bit bad for her in snatch game. No one ever wants to bomb that badly. Rupaul in the workroom made her doubt her original choice of Selena (which I agree with). However, Gia chose kind of a bland celebrity. Kim Kardashian speaks in a very monotone voice and doesn't have too much excitement to her unless you go completely crazy with it. The look was awful! Gia looked nothing like Kim at all. That blouse and those shades Kim wouldn't be caught dead wearing. Then she started talking! And it just went downhill from there. I don't even think Gia attempted to tell any jokes. The only time I laughed was when Bianca Del Rio threw her puppet at Gia. I wish I could say her performance was forgettable but it was so bad I don't think I could erase it from my mind if I tried.

4. The Vixen as Blue Ivy

Again I am not a huge fan of this queen either. But fan or not, her snatch game wasn't great. And she had the nerve to blame Eureka for her failure. She thought she could work with Asia O'Hara, as Beyoncé, for some extra comedy but both of them messed this up. The Vixen could have gone anywhere with Blue Ivy! We knew nothing about her! Like Carson Kressley said, "She could have had a Polish accent!". The Vixen could have gone anywhere, but instead she went nowhere. She crashed and burned and this whole performance was ugly! I honestly don't think there was one redeeming aspect to the whole performance. Sorry not sorry The Vixen.

5. Anyone as Beyoncé

So far anyone who has picked the Queen Bee herself has failed miserably. Starting with Asia O'Hara, her performance made Bey look like a mean parent and a horrible person to work with. She kept up the mean act the entire time. Beyoncé is not mean from what I can see. This performance was more disappointing than anything. Now Kenya Michaels performance was a travesty! Kenya had far too much energy and was practically shouting over everyone to try and be funny. Her constant movement and distractions were annoying to say the least. Queen Bey should sue for defamation, it was that bad. Latrice Royale had every right to be mad at Kenya for this performance. Once again, she had no redeemable qualities as Beyoncé. Both of these queens should have listened to Rupaul and done something other than Bey.

6. Cynthia Lee Fontaine as Sofia Vergara

I had such high hopes for Cynthia for snatch game. And boy oh boy was I ever let down. To begin the look was way off. The wig was a good match but that ugly tank top was just not it. Cynthia did not have the physical actions of Sofia down so that messed her up a bit. Her accent was spot on because they share the same native language, but that is as far as my positive critiques go. None of her jokes were landing, she was confusing the celebrity judges and Rupaul as well. Now, sometimes having a hard to understand accent really builds up the comedy, but not in Cynthia's case. This performance was just plain sad. This performance is also the reason I think queens should never play a character super close to themselves and their personality. It just doesn't end well for them.

For now, this is where I am going to stop. There are far too many to fit into one article. If I were to discuss them all I would be writing a three part novel. Please future queens of Rupaul's drag race, do better than these queens have. Snatch game is the one challenge everyone knows is coming. So spend as much time as possible perfecting two characters. The second just as a backup so you don't end up like Asia O'Hara or Naomi Smalls. I hope you enjoyed! Feel free to keep up this discussion with fellow Drag Race fans!

tv
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.