Geeks logo

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

Spoiler-free book review

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

How I came across it?

If you hear the word, Battle Royale, the first thing that will come to mind is the fortnite game. I found about about Battle Royale through an advertisement at the back of my copy of manga volumes published by Tokyo Pop. I had never heard anything like it before. Japan being transformed into a futuristic facist state where they send a random class to an island to kill each other until there is one left. Everything about the book is insane from it’s high violence, high school drama, gigantic cast, to it’s extensive world building and the map. This novel has adapted into a movie and a manga series consisting of fourteen volumes, both the movie and the manga series adaption were successful in their own rights and have their own quirks different to the book.

Where did I get it?

I actually bought the novel twice. The first time was many years ago in Waterstones and when the new translation came out a few years back, I got it as well. In my personal opinion, I think both translations are as good as each other and I still felt the power in both of them.

What I liked about it?

I loved the elements of horror, violence and gore in this dystioan thriller. I loved all the characters, even the villains. The fact that they’re all kids just makes their brutal death and desperation to survive all the more chilling. We see over 42 students fight to the death, but we get to know each and every one of them.

The prose isn’t perfect, but everything about the story is vivid and imaginative. I’ve read this book so many times and sometimes I don’t feel like I’m reading a 600+ page novel. It’s really easy to get through and to read. You’ve got characters you want to route for and then there’s characters you want to die.

The scenes were friends kill each other are heartbreaking. Villians you never thought you feel sympathy for, you feel for them. There’s so many twists and somethings you don’t see it coming.

One thing that Noriko does, which she dosen’t do in the manga or the film. This thing is what makes book Noriko such a stand-out character in the books. Whilst she’s just as sweet in the other adaptions, her actions in the book makes her less of a stereotype.

I loved it form beginning to end and I thought the ending was satisfying.

What I didn’t like about it?

There’s not many female characters that are really strong and take a proper lead. Chigusa and Mitsuko stand out, and Noriko is also sweet, but there are many amazing male characters and it’s a shame there aren’t as many female characters that are as strong as characters. I think it’s also a shame that Takami has never written anything else since this book. To date this is the only book he’s ever released.

Another thing that I don’t like is that this book is only availible to buy as a paperback and not as an e-book. As for audiobooks, I could only find it in French.

How did it make me feel?

I feel hooked all the way through. It’s a long book, but it kept me hooked. It takes a lot of talent to keep people involved into a book over 600 pages. I feel the red on the book covers is meant to be symbolic as there is a lot of blood. One edition of the books actually has 666 pages, considering that is the number of the beast, I can’t help but think that was intentional.

Would I reccomend it?

A hundred percent yes! I love book and anyone who loves dystopian or Japanese fiction should check it out.

review
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.