Geeks logo

Barry Season 3 Episode 2 'Limonada' Review

Doing a tremendous job of mixing comedy with dramatic essence, I have mixed opinions on Barry’s pathway to redemption.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

You have to give me this chance. It’s a do-or-die situation.

Limonada picks up where the previous events of episode 1 finished. Barry is desperate to get Gene an acting gig believing it is an act of forgiveness. Seeking help from Sally, Barry loses it in a fit of rage, running for more answers. Meanwhile, Sally finds out another new show is up against her own.

The drama is packed into this thirty-minute episode. So far, season 3 of Barry is dark. I have to admit that I backed away from my laptop screen for some moments. Doing a tremendous job of mixing comedy with dramatic essence, I have mixed opinions on Barry’s pathway to redemption.

I want to know how Bill Hader gets himself into the mindset of this character. Barry is losing it. He has become so unhinged, screaming at Sally and threatening Gene’s life. His behavior has become very concerning.

The way Hader switches from innocence into this crooked presence is incredible. His monologue in the climax was chilling. I’m not sure if this is the right pathway for Barry’s character, but then again, he was never a reliable person to start with.

Gene (Henry Winkler) spends most of the time locked in a trunk, pleading with Barry, and running. Winkler and Hader do an excellent job with this dynamic. Both evaluating how to help the other, Gene has to understand Barry for his life.

I felt so bad for Sally (Sarah Goldberg) in this episode. Underneath that confident mask, her rude demeanor, and the inexcusable lie from the climax of season 2, I was reminded of the abuse Sally endured in her past.

After Barry screams in her face, Sally is unfocused, even going about getting Barry his favorite food and a gift to make up for something that she did not do. Sally’s past plays a crucial part in her character. The way Goldberg examines that is studied well.

Hank (Anthony Carrigan) and Cristobal (Michael Irby) are in a bind with their relationship. Cristobol’s father-in-law arrives with some news. I have mixed feelings about where this relationship is heading, but it still added drama.

Fuches (Stephen Root) was missing from this episode. This is the first time that Fuches was absent. I know he is hiding out and there’s not much that he can do, but we should have had a little scene with him because he is a big part of this series and of Barry’s character. Shouldn’t hunting down Fuches be Barry’s main priority?

I am so happy that Elsie Fisher was cast in this show. Having witnessed Barry’s confrontation with Sally, Katie questions the other women on set if they should do something. Barry is a show about relationships, both positive and negative. I wonder how writers are going to use her character, and I hope it’s not as a victim

Bill Hader’s astute direction is something that needs to be recognized. In the scene where Barry is begging Sally to listen to him, the camera is panning out. That’s a clever motive. We shouldn’t be on track with Barry. This technique harbors Barry’s unhinged mind.

The storylines are strong. He may have overdone it with the comedy in some moments. I was laughing at the scene with the couple fighting over the number of dogs the other has. There’s a lot of background humor in this episode.

As soon as the episode was over, I took a breath. It is a lot to sit through. Still, it’s an effective episode and I look forward to the next. Go watch Barry on HBO.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.