Geeks logo

Aruna Irani Biography,

You will find all the basic Information about Aruna Irani. Scroll down to get the complete details. We walk you through all about Aruna. Checkout Aruna

By babu aliPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Indian screen actress known for her supporting roles in such Hindi and Bollywood films as Beta, Fakira, Love Story, and Pet Pyaar Aur Paap. Her performances earned her numerous Filmfare Awards and nominations. Aruna Irani is a well known Movie Actress. Aruna was born on May 3, 1952 in India..Aruna is one of the famous and trending celeb who is popular for being a Movie Actress. As of 2018 Aruna Irani is 66 years years old. Aruna Irani is a member of famous Movie Actress list. has ranked Aruna Irani as of the popular celebs list. Aruna Irani is also listed along with people born on 3-May-52. One of the precious celeb listed in Movie Actress list.

Nothing much is known about Aruna Education Background & Childhood. We will update you soon.A bottle of coke and potato wafers did the trick. For a nine-year-old from a poor family, these were luxuries. And while she was concentrating on wolfing down everything on her plate, Dilip Kumar’s eyes spotted her potential and he called out to her. That little girl was Aruna Irani. Today’s generation might know her as Hansuba from the tele-serial, Sanskaar-Dharohar Apno Ki but she’s the same lady who was one of Amitabh Bachchan’s first leading ladies in Bombay To Goa (1972), who swayed to the beat as Rishi Kapoor sang Main shair to nahin in Bobby (1973) and who played the stern matriarch in Beta (1992).

A veteran of around 400 films, Aruna swerved towards the small screen when roles in films stopped coming her way. She reasons, “For actresses my age, there’s no work in films anymore. None of my contemporaries are active and not because they don’t want to work. The reality today is that even the hero and the heroine hardly have parents in films so where’s the question of a mama, chacha or tai? The story just revolves around four friends.”

Born on August 18, 1946, Aruna Irani is the eldest of eight siblings (five brothers, three sisters). As a child, work was far from Aruna’s mind. A topper at school, she wanted to be a doctor. Fate willed otherwise. She was forced to stop studying after the sixth standard. Aruna recalls, “My younger sister was stubborn, though. She refused to give up her studies and managed to clear her matriculation. I couldn’t stand up to my parents, especially my father. Sixty years ago, it was enough if a girl knew how to sign her name. Money was to be spent on educating the boys. But in our family there was little money for the boys too. It’s good I was a girl, naach gaa ke kama liya. What would a boy have achieved without education? But there are no regrets; I have deep respect for my parents.” People often asked Aruna how she managed to speak English since she stopped going to school at a young age. She reveals her secret, “English was taught from the fourth standard and by the time I reached the sixth, I was out of school. If anyone asked me ‘What’s your name?’ I’d reply, ‘My name is Aruna.’ Then I heard people just reply with their name. My desire to learn helped me. I bought a small Oxford dictionary for Rs 3.75. It had English to Hindi and Hindi to English translations. When someone said ‘butter’ I’d check the spelling and realise it was spelt butter and not ‘butar’.” Aruna’s father, Faredun Irani, owned a drama troupe and her mother Saguna was an actress. Her father always regretted not having a son as his first born; someone who could have looked after the family when he was no more. With grit and hard work, his eldest daughter proved him wrong. She became the provider for the family. Smiles Aruna, “One month before he passed away, I bought a Fiat car for Rs 9,000. He’d stand in the balcony and gaze at it for hours. He was proud I’d made a name for myself.”

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.