Geeks logo

Artemis fowl book review

This is my own review of the Artemis fowl book 1

By John becksonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

Ok so I love reading. Yes I do run a paranormal hunting group and we do a lot of investigations but in between my investigations unlike Steve and his cousin who play video games or Maddy who goes to the gun range (or shoots cans with a metal pellet gun in the RV), I read books or listen to audiobooks, and review them, and I just re-read one of my most favorite book series from when I was a kid and that is non-other that, Artemis Fowl....

ok so this book is first and foremost about a minor 12-year-old who comes from a multi-millionaire family and is actually a criminal mastermind who takes on the race of fairies to get their nice and shiny gold to increase his fortune. Now honestly I think that it was in part due to that of the highly witty and well written writing style and the very complex and well fleshed-out characters, this is just a purely great choice for any fantasy fans to take up a read. Readers who are even upon the younger side will 100% absolutely love in for all of its pure packed action, I mean seriously this book is like an action movie in words (I know that’s what attracted me to it infact when I first read it at camp I hated doing the camp activities as I never wanted to put this book down because of all the action which I can guarantee you won’t want to put it down either).

To be honest There is honestly ALOT OF PURE AND UTTER ACTION especially when it draws closer to near the ending of the novel, I mean there is A fight with a troll is which gets rather bloody, in A pure fire load of bullets against a hungry monster with horns and claws, and very very very very very very very very very very very very highly Earlier on within this story there is a kidnapping, some really detailed action packed fistfights, explosions, and tranquilizers are taken up as well (you know all james bond like action), and even Artemis' own bodyguard, Butler, himself tries not to kill his fairy adversaries (despite being his bodyguard the butler is the more moral of the two in this book anyway, although honestly this is the one thing I have to say I hated about the book is the bodyguard I mean it’s just lazy to make your bodyguard Butler)

And this book even makes Artemis a really sympathetic villain when it is revealed thru some pretty short talk about why Artemis is often times left to his own devices and that reason is given as, His rich and well known father was lost in a boat explosion and then was feared deceased, and then afterward his mother stays in her room with a rather crippling mental disease.

And word to the wise for parents, you may want to expect a very largely fair amount of smoking by the fairy commander and some alcoholic drinking (I mean this is a action movie wrapped in a book and what good action movie with this kinda plot won’t have a character who does just that I mean it’s a classic trope)

Plus While you're reading along with your children, this book is a AMAZINLY SUPER opportunity to talk about antiheroes such as Artemis, He (like a lot of villians) is driven by power and by money, and he's devious and sometimes cruel, but there's definitely good in there (which is expressed and fleshed out a lot in later books) so yes this book can surprisingly be educational and will actually want to get your kids learning unlike the way schools teach this subject..

And so I can give u a full on certain that all you readers from any age readers may find themselves rooting for both him (despite him technically being the antagonist) and at the same time they will root for the fairies at once, this book really is an amazing book and I think it’s one of those books that not just young adults can enjoy but older adults as well I think it crosses age barriers and I mean if all ages can enjoy James Bond then all ages can enjoy this book to,

Now all That being said this is still a purely WONDERFUL book and fantastic series and I definitely think you should go out and buy the book or the audiobook and give it a listen book and my opinion above does stand but I wouldn’t be giving a fair critique if I didn’t say that this book is not without its faults.

first off it can be alittle confusing to follow at times because it does jump from Artemis to the fairy realm seemingly WITHOUT ANY NOTICE, one second it’s in the fairy realm next it’s fowl, then it’s fairy realm next it’s fowl. And I mean while I loved the book and it does somewhat even out on this as the series progresses (albeit not much) it can be very hard to follow from time to time. And then there is naming the bodyguard Butler, ok what!!!, I get the author was trying to be funny but that isn’t funny that’s just lazy, I mean it’s stupid and lazy oh wow you named the Butler to your antihero (or antagonist in this book), Butler, oh wow that’s sooo funny and creative, it’s not like there is billions of more realistic names you could have chosen I mean come on the target audience isn’t freaking 5 years old!!!!!!!!!, look it would be funny but only for someone who was like freaking FIVE YEARS OLD!!!!!!, but for this target audience it’s bad if you think that naming the Butler, Butler, is funny cause that’s not funny it’s just pure and lazy writing almost like the author said “oh I’ve written to many characters already i don’t even care at this point”.

Ok so as you can see there are far more positives I have that negatives on this book and that is a great think for ANY AUTHOR OF ANY TYPE OF BOOK FOR ANY GENRE THRU THE BOARD!!, and even with the above negatives I still do recommend this book to everyone, and even more so to observant readers due to the sudden switches between settings, overall if I had to give this book a star rating I’d say.... 8/10

literature
2

About the Creator

John beckson

My original last name was torrence, was interested all my life in the unknown I got a doctorate certification in cryptozoology (among other certifications, and my recent of april 8th 2020, I got a certification in investigative journalism)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.