Geeks logo

Andrei Rublev (1966)

1001 Movies to See Before You Die (Schneider, J.S, Smith, I.H)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

In this article, we will be looking at 2019’s book “1001 Movies to See Before You Die” and going through each film in a random order that I have chosen. We will be looking at what constitutes this film to be on the list and whether I think this film deserves to be here at all. I want to make perfectly clear that I won’t be revealing details from this book such as analyses by film reporters who have written about the film in question, so if you want the book itself you’ll have to buy it. But I will be covering the book’s suggestions on which films should be your top priority. I wouldn’t doubt for a second that everyone reading this article has probably watched many of these movies anyway. But we are just here to have a bit of fun. We’re going to not just look at whether it should be on this list but we’re also going to look at why the film has such a legacy at all. Remember, this is the 2019 version of the book and so, films like “Joker” will not be featured in this book and any film that came out in 2020 (and if we get there, in 2021). So strap in and if you have your own suggestions then don’t hesitate to email me using the address in my bio. Let’s get on with it then.

Andrei Rublev (1966) dir. by Andrei Tarkovsky

"Andrei Rublev" (1966) is a Russian-Language movie directed by Andrei Tarkovsky and written by veteran Russian Theatre writer and director Andrei Konchalovsky. Many people worked on this project (even some people not called Andrei) and the film is in one of the most beautiful languages ever to bless the ears - the poetic language of Russian. It is no wonder as to why this episodical film will always be one of the greatest movies ever filmed in its style.

The film is a brilliant mixture between chronology and oddity in the fact that chapters one through to eight tell us the main story and then the frame in the prologue and epilogue are only loosely related to the story, but are still just as beautiful. From the very beginning of the prologue with the exciting scene of a make-shift air balloon that Yefim tries to get into the sky all the way to moving scene with the horses in the rain and thunder - this film is through and through one of the greatest films ever made. Artistic and self-aware, it tells us a story without ever giving light to the story at all. We are more than an audience, we are the people who need to be convinced to believe in Rublev's story.

I and many other film graduates thought about whether there were other cuts of the film, say if there were other lengthier versions of certain episodes in the series, especially the prologue and epilogue considering how little they have to do directly with the main story. We always wondered if something was cut out in between so that the connection would be more indirect. Here's what Tarkovsky said about other cuts in 1969:

"Nobody has ever cut anything from Andrei Rublev. Nobody except me. I made some cuts myself. In the first version the film was 3 hours 20 minutes long. In the second — 3 hours 15 minutes. I shortened the final version to 3 hours 6 minutes. I am convinced the latest version is the best, the most successful. And I only cut certain overly long scenes. The viewer doesn't even notice their absence. The cuts have in no way changed neither the subject matter nor what was for us important in the film. In other words, we removed overly long scenes which had no significance. We shortened certain scenes of brutality in order to induce psychological shock in viewers, as opposed to a mere unpleasant impression which would only destroy our intent. All my friends and colleagues who during long discussions were advising me to make those cuts turned out right in the end. It took me some time to understand it. At first I got the impression they were attempting to pressure my creative individuality. Later I understood that this final version of the film more than fulfils my requirements for it. And I do not regret at all that the film has been shortened to its present length..."

Tarkovsky shut us all up I guess.

Unauthorised cuts have been made.

And everyone saw Scorsese's Criterion Cut *makes anime love-eyes*

We know of the cuts... So let us move on.

In Empire Magazine, it was rated on the 100 Greatest Films of World Cinema at number 87 of all time. Whilst the Vatican has put it in one of its 45 Greatest Films and The Guardian and Observer Newspapers in the UK stated that it was the 2nd Greatest Film of All Time.

All in all, this film will never fail to make me question my existence over and over again. The image of horses is just divine. Watch this space as well, I may come back and write about horses in the film. I know it's been done but this article has rekindled my love affair that I had with this film about ten years' ago.

movie
1

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.