Geeks logo

All Hallows' Eve - List

Continued Nostalgia In Literature And Cinema

By l.e.willsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 14 min read
1
All Hallows' Eve - List
Photo by Hasina Kassam on Unsplash

A Continued Cinema + Reading Guide List For A Memorable Fall

By Hasina Kassam on Unsplash

There are so many more honorable mentions that were not previously discussed but will be read + consumed nonetheless.

As I had previously stated in its' sister article 'All Hallows' Eve - List' I had outlined this series as a '31 nights of cinema nostalgia'. Highlighting hallowed queens and mental comfort from art that personally keeps me alive. The objective initially was just a ironic idea to mirror the tv guides from back in the day (which it is now - 'back in the day') when episodes were programs and all things cataloged with time, date, then printed. To be physically obtained for ones' home. Too much! Too much TV! I kept hearing like an audible voice outside myself. Thus the birth of the beginning of what is now just a movie watch list for a nostalgic fall.

Alas this will be a continued series of what I am watching that wasn't previously listed, and what I am reading and will be reading. Series to re-read and write down your new discoveries from old memories and the series to pass along and currents I am engrossed with, and others that I am salivating to get to.

What I Will Be Reading This Fall ~ For The Fuzzies ~

'Blonde and Bagels' Blog Photography 'The Best Harry Potter Illustrated Books'

I am currently re -reading the 'Harry Potter' series. I will not touch on the controversy in this article but I do understand the reason why these books are being shelved or rejected. I highly disagree with the thoughts and opinions of an author I once deemed inclusive.

I will be touching on the books themselves, and re reading them through the lens of a young adult, vs. the developing escapism mind of a growing child. The books themselves, did save my life. They saved me. Very literally. So I'll always hold that level of respect for them. They have inspired these words, the dynamic change in my life and others, even the strength to hold a pen. Survive poverty; survive abuse. Through a story, I along with many others I could assume committed to ruthless pages, to respect the truth, create experience, honor theme.

Obviously this is extremely nostalgic for me just of the time frame of the series itself - and other millennials' specifically - we grew up alongside the book series. Then grew up engaged with the cinema series that was re-created, harnessing the ending of a fantasy that coincided the ending of our very youth. Twisted irony. This alongside just being another lifetime they will always hold just such a special place in my heart, and I am finding that a decade later I am receiving so many different lessons and epiphanies. Through many of the same characters' and a completely different perception of myself.

'Blonde and Bagels' Blog Photography 'The Best Harry Potter Illustrated Books'

The beauty in art isn't strictly the vibrant coat of color on canvas. Yes holding allure and potency. Alas the beauty in art is the different perspectives that come from the same sourced piece of fabric, hue or strokes of pen.

I remember being able to check out the hardcovers at the middle school library where my egg donors' husband worked. I would stare at the cover illustration the entire way home. Read it in two days time between school obligations then proceed to 'act it out' as the adults would say. As I have come to find this was just ~light and beautiful autistic play~ I very literally shit myself when the books became real and could be witnessed. I just couldn't fathom that the world in my head would be brought to life!

I found the first book in a little neighborhood library just recently. Those slight framed box libraries that are placed in yards or side streets. Usually apart of some exchange honor system; leave one take one policy. Approaching my Saturn's Return I snatched the first book before I realized it could be tattered or torn. After reading the first book alone literally within two evenings, I realized why I had yanked it from the depths.. Just what I needed to remember the power I've suppressed in my veins.

Curling up in the window seat that overlooks what was my escape, a plastic horse or two and the 'Sorcerer's Stone'. After that first book everything changed, in the world, me personally, and at Hogwarts. It's nice to be back even if for a moment, even if it's me standing there looking into the 'The Mirror of Erised' (a cheesy reference if you've read the series) but truly.

Currently I'm on the second book in the series, 'The Chamber Of Secrets' which I also found in the same neighborhood library. Score!

'Blonde and Bagels' Blog Photography 'The Best Harry Potter Illustrated Books'

Click the link below for the most enchanting, magical, witchy, alluring and aesthetically pleasing blog; Blondes and Bagels.

A wonderful writer with the most alluring green witchy and beautifully photographed blog! Her articles don't just begin with magic, it just generously sprinkled throughout. Home, life, magic and self. Above and below are her photographs' in an article available on her blog. 'The Best Harry Potter Illustrated Books' a detailed look at the illustrated versions of the series. Bewitching to say the least. If you're looking for a great read, all things life and divine feminine ~ look no further.

'Blonde and Bagels' Blog Photography 'The Best Harry Potter Illustrated Books'

The Hobbit + The Lord Of The Rings

Written By J.R.R Tolkien

An Original Tom Jung Concept Art

This is just another classic series I am sure I was able to read at too young of an age. Also the first real cinematic experience that I lived (including HP series).

The cinematic experience I save for the snowy holidays for whatever reason. I really enjoy setting up decorations to the clashing of swords and screeching screams of orcs. Seeing Liv Tyler, Cate Blanchett, Sir Ian McKellen and Orlando Bloom on screen just takes me back. I mentioned it was my very first real cinematic experience and one I believe it was mostly Legolas.. also the movie series ended when I was much younger. And I had the on screen experience before I ended up finding the books. So I basically had to process that ending on the cusp of puberty, versus with HP I was entering a new stage of life where I was already numb and depressed.. ha, ahh the end of high school. Also I will literally never forget how beautiful Liv Tyler looked at the Oscars the year that 'Return Of The King' had premiered, ahhh that's when I knew it was all over. I had a full meltdown and everyone was like okay, "she - uhm something is wrong with her!" And it would still be almost fourteen years later until anyone told me I was autistic not overly eccentric.

The book series on the other hand, I have not read in quite some time well over a decade. I am the most eager to see what I take from them - in this self. After consuming the first HP book, I realized I needed to make a dedicated list of classics that I could re-read. It meant so much more to me in this stage of life, on this specific venture. To take head to the resonance within their messages.

The 'Hobbit' was a book I grabbed around the same time as HP. In the same junior high school library no doubt but alas snatched at any moment of exposure. Eventually my egg donors' husband I mentioned, he was the principal of the school so he was able to see if it was checked out; and if it wasn't a student - my persons searched, room destroyed like a swat team analyzing and probing the evidence.

I would later come to grab my very first floppy spine of the 'The Hobbit' from a flea market for $1.00 just after the first movie ironically not the first book, had made its' appearance on screen. Which I might add I was lucky enough to see with my sperm donor, his girlfriend and her older children. Around the premiere of 'Two Towers' on screen - I stumbled across that grimy flea market in my very literal hometown. Like birth certificate home town, from a vendor who had known me apparently from the time I was a mute baby-child. Nonetheless. It was just perfect timing. Watched the first movie, then the second, the stumbled across 'The Hobbit' and finally the whole series. Now that I am writing this, I am seeing that life has placed many physical gifts bound by ink and feathered page, being tossed away by others desperately seeking a new home. To be found by me.

If there was a deserted island list - this would be on it - ironically I write not having read them since the age of 11. It would still make the list. There is no way I would be able to part with them like a safety blanket they too have saved and comforted me. I will defiantly be writing my feelings on the series but for now; I will leave you with quotes that have soaked by bones in cooling ease. Have been the light in the furthest of my distances, a calm reminder, like wind as gentle hands of reassurance on my shoulders. The quotes highlighted, with folded dog-eared pages; crispy from salt water tears. Bleeding neon glow found on lucky numbered pages of books written before I even existed. Spines that are clinging to loose stitching; glistening threads of silk. You are everything to me. I am sorry I just realized. Just some of the many.

"There's some good in this world, Mr. Frodo and it's worth fighting for." - Samwise Gamgee

"I feel like spring after winter, and sun on the leaves; and like trumpets and harps and all the songs I have ever heard." - Samwise

"For even the very wise cannot see all ends." - Gandalf

"Many that live deserve death. And some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them? Then do not be too eager to deal out death in judgment." - Gandalf

"Short cuts make long delays." - Peregrin Took 'Pippin'

By conner bowe on Unsplash

The Last Unicorn

Written By Peter S. Beagle

Ahh a beauty. How many moons has it been? Ages stuffed in duffle bags, the fantasy awaiting, you are wisdom, heartbreak and magic.

Thank you.

"there never is a happy ending because nothing ever ends."

'The Last Unicorn' Illustration

'The Last Unicorn' by Peter S. Beagle

These are not ranked or in order by any means. More or less the order I feel called to read them in.

Finishing up with the HP series, I will move on to my tattered series I have kept close to me of Tolkien's work, followed by this welcomed sirens song. This masterpiece, both novel and film have since been lost to me. With deep regret this is just the unfortunate mishaps of a child with narcissistic creators' (and I realize I say this with such privileges' it's just a small truth of what is in this reality) your things just do not matter. They are constructs for court, family members or pure greed but they are not yours. So anything you obtain that you wish to be yours, has to be held in super secrecy.

Stumbling across this motion picture was fate. It was one of those discovery then finding change all over the place to experience kind of young hustle. Spotting the movie at this second hand video book shop in that raggedy town. Hiding the detailed case behind a pile of old, thick and smelly romantic novels only to come back later with my coins mostly dimes in hand to purchase. What I was referencing early was I messed up and actually took this precious DVD that I had scrapped for, between houses.

It became a spectacle. I was reminded that no matter what these 'things' were, they were not mine, I was reminded that I technically stole it because people don't report missing change and I was underage and didn't work so how else was I going to get it - got the whole spiel. Before I knew what was happening it was being forcefully taken from my belongings. Ripped from my backpack with one leg out of the car door hanging by engineered straps like a parachute.

Anyway, it did stay over there for awhile and even with them when they leaped to Hawaii. Shortly after though it was sold in a garage sale sadly before I had the time to execute its' escape. A few years later, after another one of their moves, and another summer wasted away I left my summer reading stash at their transient home! The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle, Love The One You're With by Emily Griffin, and The Angel Of Death by Alane Ferguson were the forgotten. So sad, and I think about my mistake annually but I am hopeful I will come across them again.

This was why I said there isn't a ranking because this love of book, and film came in-between the two mentioned above. Just a young girl, who believed she was a fairy princess, saw unicorns, and wanted to learn magic. The film is very delightful and pleasing if you have never heard of the book. Or if you've seen it and though it just much too old. If you are into fantasy, unicorns, magic, literature or animation you might enjoy the world created. Thank you to the digital world by the way. Able to have everything online instead of physical mass. I still long for that very first DVD and the weight of the soft cover first addition I was able to discover. Maybe in my neighborhood library.

My Name Is Memory By Ann Brashares *started this about seven years ago and the book was stolen from me, and I just never finished or found another one so I plan on reading this for feels, and slobby tears.*

Most Honorable Mentions In Cozy Cinema

The new age classics! All the cozy, fun loving moments I desperately crave to relive wrapping up the eves' list ~ to the staples not previously mentioned in the finale lineup.

Alvin and the Chipmunks Meet the Wolfman (2000)

Can safely say this was probably my first horror movie experience. I didn't have it listed in the previous article because I had the memory stored away. A series of locks with keys that had since gone missing. It wasn't until a local neighborhood costume event, at the teeny coffee shop that I saw a group of toddlers dressed as the chipmunks! I cannot wait to watch this again! Just to see how hard I cringe or how fondly I enjoy myself. *for the boys!*

Where To Watch:

Available for purchase on Amazon Prime Video.

Available for purchase on Apple TV.

Available for purchase on YouTube.

Available for purchase on VUDU.

Available for purchase on Google Play.

The Haunted Mansion (2003)

Classic! Honestly the only reason why this wasn't listed in the sister article was because I was going to be watching it multiple times before Halloween. I enjoy it so much I watched over the summer months. It's just the right amount of scare. I want the scare to be with Eddie Murphy in the most iconic ride at Disney. Duh! I also remember this being all over Disney Channel and FX while the movie was being made. Ahh such nostalgia but lets be real - this is my feel good movie, all the time, any time, any change of season, no matter the holiday but always needing a mood change. This is it. *MWAH* *chefs kiss*

Where To Watch:

Available on Disney+ with subscription.

Available for purchase on Amazon Prime Video.

Available for purchase on Apple TV.

Available for purchase on YouTube.

Available for purchase on VUDU.

Available for purchase on Google Play.

Hotel Transylvania (2012)

The first one! The first one only! I know there is a whole series so you cannot stop just at the first if you have kids but there was only one for so long and it's the best one in my opinion. I cannot tell you how much I needed to see Andy Samberg and Adam Sandler together again! *with freakin bats not less!!*

Where To Watch:

Available on STARZ subscription on Amazon Prime Video.

Available on Hulu with premium subscription.

Available on Philo with subscription.

Available for purchase on Apple TV.

Available for purchase on YouTube.

Available for purchase on VUDU.

Available for purchase on Google Play.

COCO (2017)

I didn't think I could still cry like a fresh human being ripped from the womb. Well done!! I cried like a child lost in public over suppressed feelings in a crusty theatre but I will choose to do it time, and time again at home with this ~ masterpiece of love ~ with the ones I love. I also didn't guess the biggest twist of all! :)

Where To Watch:

Available on Disney+ with subscription.

Available for purchase on Amazon Prime Video.

Available for purchase on Apple TV.

Available for purchase on YouTube.

Available for purchase on VUDU.

Available for purchase on Google Play.

Hubie Halloween (2020)

Thank you Adam Sandler for the ultimate Halloween Town experience. The cast, the writing the crew and most important the aesthetics of a town that always manages to decorate for Halloween and is epic when it comes to tricks! Also did I mention all the witchy-ness? Salem? Fall changing leaves and scream masks? Senseless cuteness + overloads of nostalgia? YES!!

Where To Watch: Only available on Netflix.

~happiest, most sacred of all hallows' eve to you ghouls treatin'~

Keep a watchful eye for all magic and mania, we have a Full Moon just 11 days before the sacred sabbath.

~ let us see what virtues this brings about ~

entertainment
1

About the Creator

l.e.wills

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.