Geeks logo

Adunni Ade Calls Out Nollywood Producers Over Greed and Bad Behavior in the Industry

"You can't do that"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Adunni Ade is one of the most outspoken Nollywood actresses in the industry today. She never shies away from speaking about her experiences, both good and bad, in the industry and in a new interview with Channels Television, she is talking once again.

Adunni Ade

The actress opened up about what can be done to make sure actors earn better than they do at the moment, and also talked about what upcoming talent can do in an effort not to "sell their souls". Here's everything Adunni said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adunni Ade on Channels TV

The conversation happened when during her interview on Channels TV, Adunni was asked: "What can be done better to make sure actors earn better than they do at the moment?" Adunni responded:

This conversation, it needs a whole time on its own. What can be done is people need to let go of greed. A lot of people would rather just want an actor or a filmmaker to 'just help me'. You can't do that. You can't keep having people do you favors or help you out here and there. You're getting richer and these people are still staying on the same level. Now in the Yoruba aspect of Nollywood, this happens a lot. I'm sure it happens in the English but in the Yoruba, it happens A LOT. And this is not me calling anyone out, but this is me saying it is time for filmmakers or folks in the film industry to get paid for what they do. Stop calling talents and telling them to come do you a favor. You're saving money to make a film rather than pay people and even when you pay them, you pay them disgusting amounts.

The interviewer then told Adunni that the argument around this behavior is often "we are trying to give you a platform" to which Adunni said:

Forget the platform. I understand and I think upbringing also has something to do with this. A lot of people who are not from the so-rich families are eager to be seen, to be known, and they're willing to do whatever it is just to break into the industry. I keep telling people: what is going to be will be. You don't have to rush to become popular, to become famous. You have other platforms. For instance, I've been in the entertainment industry for 16 years. I've been in Nigeria for 10. When I started, this is when skitmaking was not even popular. I think at that time, the only 2 or 3 people I knew doing this were Bovi, Basketmouth and some other comedian. I don't know of any other female comedian that was doing this at that time. I came out making comedy skits. I'm not a comedian but I want to think I have a good sense of humor. From there, that's how people began to know who Adunni Ade was. It gave me my first break in Nollywood. I flew from America to Nigeria to film, and from there more calls came. I went straight into box office filmmaking. So you have more avenues now to break into the industry without you selling your soul. You can use your social media rather than just type nonsense.

Good advice Adunni gave especially to upcoming creators and a very interesting take on the "just do me a favor" nature of not only Nollywood but also a lot of businesses.

What do you think? Do you think this "do me a favor" way of doing business should be stopped or do you think there's nothing wrong with it? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.