Geeks logo

A Short Review of Mary Shelley (2018, Haifaa al-Mansour)

A Review

By Craig YorkPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Being a committed and passionate reader of Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus by Mary Shelley (also a fan of the rather unfaithful Universal and Hammer adaptations, forgive me Mary), I had to investigate this film, which is notably directed by Saudi Arabia's first female filmaker, Haifaa al-Mansour.

When I went to see this what I found was a haunting drama that was clearly written with the intention to encapsulate Mary Shelley, her ideals and her work. However, though I do state that this is a haunting drama, I personally found it average, at best. I didn't really find it a great watch. Although, it does still have merits, so I don't think its a bad film either—though I do still feel it was a rather mediocre experience. Other people may view differently but personally I found it just didn't encapsulate the atmosphere that surrounds Mary Shelley and her work.

The filmmakers have clearly done their best to show Mary Shelley and her ideals, but I'm not sure they've succeeded. There is no hint of the spark, impact and passion that her work has truly had on our literary history. Due to this, the story unfortunately becomes mediocre, and the message, stale. Effectively signing the film's own death warrant. The element of the film concerning Shelley's famous novel seems rushed and brushed over. Obviously I realize the film is more about Mary Shelley herself and her influences for the book, but I still feel there needs to be a slight bit more focus on the book, as right now the focus is completely unbalanced and that balanced focus likely would have made the story more enjoyable and the message more significant.

Also, I did not think the casting for Peter Shelley, played by Douglass Booth, or Mary, played by Elle Fanning, was well done. I felt they weren't right for the roles they were picked for and they didn't seem right for the portrayal of the two famous historical figures. I would have definitely picked someone different. That being said, I will admit both actors did put in a surprisingly good performance. In fact all the performances I felt were very good, especially with a number of the supporting cast, including famous Game of Thrones actors Stephen Dillane and Maisie Williams.

Alongside these good performances, the production design, costumes and historical details were all very accurate for the time period and really well put together. Except for one significant detail. The over-stylized, hair gel lathered hairstyle that was put on Douglass Booth. A haircut that definitely does not seem like something you would have in the early 1800s. I know this may be a minor inaccuracy but this damn haircut really annoyed me. It's almost like it was taunting me, it almost distracted me from the film entirely.

Anyway, we shouldn't focus on that, it can be overlooked but the other elements of the film cannot. With its unmoving story, the film has failed in achieving its goal. A story like this should grasp a member of the audience and keep them hooked but I certainly wasn't hooked. I was one of the fish that got away from the hook and went back home to stick the Hammer adaptation on (again, forgive me Mary)—which is disappointing, as I would have liked to have seen a film that truly encapsulates Mary Shelley and the passion for Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus released around the world and still does to this day. This was definitely not done. The film essentially manages to communicate the ideals and life of the famous author, but it fails in communicating the great renown and crucial impact that her work has had on our culture.

I recommend this to you: Don't be disappointed if you miss it. Even though it does have its merits, it isn't worth seeing.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Craig York

A film nut job who one day got bored and decided to write some film reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.