Geeks logo

A Righteous Thirst For Revenge #1

Image Comics

By Steven LeitmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A Righteous Thirst For Vengeance #1

Image Comics 2021

Created & Written by Rick Remender

Created & Illustrated by André Lima Araújo

Coloured by Chris O’Halloran

Lettered by Rus Wooton

When an unassuming man stumbles upon a dark-web contract assassin’s vicious plot to kill an innocent target, he turns himself into one. The Professional meets Road to Perdition in this story of a family’s unlikely guardian being hunted by rich and powerful men who are used to getting away with everything.

I am completely and thoroughly impressed and blown away by this issue. I hadn’t really known what to expect out of this but it certainly didn’t fall into the realm of what this actually is and that my friends and frenemies is something altogether spectacular. I love being surprised and even more so when something of this magnitude happens. I mean who would’ve thought that this was going to be the way it is, and yes I am deliberately keeping it as vague as I humanly can because you need to go into this with your own expectations and let the story blow you away by what you see honestly and without undue influence, I want you to experience this the way I did and do and that’s hopefully something I can excite you into if you were on the fence of hadn’t had this on your radar.

I am completely and utterly in love with the way that this is being told. The story & plot development that we see through how the sequence of events unfold as well as how the reader learns information is presented exceptionally well. The character development is interesting and to fully understand that you have to read the issue because the characterisation that we’re seeing here is unlike pretty much anything I have encountered to date. That’s a first too because I’ve been around the block a time or five and I thought I’d seen it all so the surprises keep on coming and I’m loving it! The pacing is excellent and as it takes us through the pages introducing us to the story, the characters and the world they live in we’re mesmerised by what we see.

I love the way this is being structured and how we see the layers within the story begin to emerge and grow. The avenues that we see open up before us add this wonderful depth, dimension and complexity to the story. The way that everything works together to create the story’s ebb & flow as well as how it moves the story forward is impeccably achieved.

God help me these interiors are stunning beyond belief. The linework is both soft and delicate and like a spider's web it’s strong and captures you in it’s deadly beauty. The way that we see the attention to detail emerge through the varying weights and techniques in the linework we see is completely deceptive because you see it and it registers but it doesn’t register just how much finesse there is to see. The backgrounds enhance and expand the moments beautifully and how they work within the composition of the panels to bring out the depth perception, sense of scale and the overall sense of size and scope to the story. The utilisation of the page layouts and how we see the angles and perspective in the panels show a masterful eye for storytelling. The various hues and tones within the colours being utilised to create the shading, highlights and shadow work shows a brilliant eye for how colour works and how to maximise its effects.

I don’t even know the dude's name who is featured in this issue but I do know that we can all empathise with how his day goes, well until the ending then he’s on his own. That we follow along and get such a great sense of the man himself and seeing what he’s going through you make this connection with him. This is really extremely well thought out and executed to the point of near perfection.

comics
Like

About the Creator

Steven Leitman

Just me talking about the comics I enjoy reading, ones that you might not know exist and spotlighting the indie creators that excite me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.