Geeks logo

A Gem, a Witch, and an 8 Foot Tall Lesbian

We're hanging with the queer kids.

By Ariana GonBonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
First Place in Guilty Pleasure Binge Challenge
49

To qualify myself as an adult: I am a 24-year old woman with a full-time job. The thing that might make you doubt my adulthood: I love kids shows - particularly LGBTQ+/queer ones. I have binge-watched a few kids shows, but there are a handful that are inseparable. It’s a trifecta - if you’re in one fandom, you find yourself in them all! They are: Steven Universe, about a teen boy who is part alien Gem and part human, trying to protect the Earth with his family; The Owl House, about an outcast teen girl who is training to be a witch; She-Ra and the Princesses of Power, about a young woman trying to lead a revolution with her friends. I have watched all three within the past year, two out of three encouraged by my partner - credit where credit is due. I don’t feel guilty having a good time watching them, it just feels a little strange to admit it for my age. But I watch them because of what I realized about myself at half my age.

I was 12-years-old when I realized that I was bisexual - I was a child. I have a theory, being part of the queer community, that (in colonized societies) queers live non-chronological lives. We live non-chronological lives because most of us have to hide ourselves from the start. A version of you grows up, but the queer version is hidden away and stays a child. Then, when it feels safe, the queer child can start to come out more, but usually years, sometimes a decade or three, later. When that queer child is finally able to come out, then there is an innocence to explore again, kind of like going through puberty again (sometimes literally), no matter how long your body has been on this earth.

Queer kids shows are wonderful for that inner child that couldn’t come out until now. In general, kids shows have more mystery and lore than you might think. Queer kids shows are no different in this regard, but they take it a step further and build in lore that does not question the validity of LQBTQ+ people, their identity, how they present themselves, or who they love. I wish the society I lived in had lore like that.

A Gem, Steven Universe

In Steven Universe, the title character is being raised by 3 Gems - Gems are aliens, and all Gems are nonbinary women - and a father, and it’s not strange. The queer community tends to accept different family structures a little easier, since we have not been seen as part of the “traditional” nuclear family structure for centuries. But here, it’s beautiful to have so many who care about you. Garnet, a being made up of two smaller beings, is the literal embodiment of a relationship. Garnet is made up of a lesbian relationship. This weird little Cartoon Network show that focuses on aliens, naturally has lesbians. The creator, Rebecca Sugar, is a non-binary woman, and said that creating the show was pivotal to becoming comfortable with their identity. It was so nice that no one questioned the Gems’ identity. If they can live with the idea of aliens, they can live with the idea of queer women.

A Witch, The Owl House

Luz is a bisexual Latina witch. That’s I all I want, and am working to be, in life. She has some Spanglish, she loves magic, and she blushes over boys and girls (no canon non-binary characters in the show… yet). Spoiler alert: she is also crushed on by a girl, but Luz is dense, so she doesn't notice. This show only has one season so far, and this beginning is promising, but I can’t wait to see what happens next.

And an 8 Foot Tall Lesbian, She-Ra and the Princesses of Power

Being a part of the WLW community, I love seeing Catra and Adora play their cat-and-mouse game (literally - Cartra is a cat), work on trusting each other again, to eventually come together into a meaningful romance. Some say that Adora and Catra should have just stayed friends, to give validation to platonic relationships being just as important as romantic ones, and I agree with this sentiment, but I’m a sucker for romance. And, I think that that concept needs to be more common for relationships between the usual “he was a boy, she was a girl, can I make it any more obvious,” and not put on same-gender relationships so easily.

The show’s lore also does not call a nonbinary character, Double Trouble, into question, since the characters easily use they/them pronouns to refer to them. Behind the scenes, Double Trouble is voiced by nonbinary actor Jacob Tobia. The creator, Noelle Stevenson, is intentional about casting actors who know their characters’ experience.

Also, it’s really fun to see all the princesses crush on Adora as soon as she turns into a buff 8 foot woman.

Save Yourself to Save the World

For all of these, I go to Youtube, for meme videos and/or deep lore explanations. Kids shows do not have to be simple to be accessible. Kids like world building and lore. The adult creators of these shows were able to tap into their own inner child and creativity to make a family-friendly show, while still explaining “adult” concepts, like war, colonization, resisting blind obedience, and non-nuclear family structures.

So, I sit with myself and my inner child, enjoying the shows for their lore itself, and the guaranteed acceptance of queer people.

pop culture
49

About the Creator

Ariana GonBon

26yo bi Xicana. There's always more to write about, in more interesting ways than white men. Follow me @arte.con.ariana, all tips will go to @openyrpurse, both on Instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.