Geeks logo

A Filmmaker's Review: 'The Wicker Man' (1973)

5/5 - a cult classic and the quintessential British horror film

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Directed by Robin Hardy, this British Classic makes a great excuse film for a rainy day and is possibly one of the greatest films created quintessentially by the British. It is an amazing film with all the trimmings of a horror/thriller cult classic.

Let's start off with my history with this film because it is a pretty interesting history to be honest. Let me go all the way back to before the 40th anniversary in 2013 and let me take you back, way back to 2008 - near around the time that Heath Ledger had died. (Heath Ledger has nothing to do with the story - it's just about putting time into context). My 12th birthday had just gone by and the world was upset because Heath Ledger had passed away at 28. I was watching the news whilst reading a book on cults and rituals for some reason - the news covered his death whilst the book covered the 'Burning Man' festivities. After this, I decided to give some research a go in the school library and looked up books to do with the burning man. I found a few but nothing of any value - I asked my friend who told me that there was a film her dad watched that looked like the picture of the burning man in the book I was holding. After this, we started to seek out the film and I found something called The Wicker Man but nobody actually had a copy so that I could borrow it (you see, streaming wasn't out back then, you actually had to get the DVD). And then, when I did find it - I was too young to borrow it because you had to be over 16. I was rightfully pissed off and so, I completely forgot about the whole thing and set my mind to something else.

I was 17 when the 40th anniversary for The Wicker Man came around and by then, I was still studying and trying to get my grades to go off to university in the coming years. I didn't really have too much time to be fooling around with cult ritualism DVDs - but I was that kind of kid that used to skip school. I had heard about the 40th anniversary edition of the film from an article I read online and really thought to myself 'was this the film I was looking for some years ago?' Of course my answer was yes and I proceeded to actively seek out the film again - properly this time. When I did find it, because it had just come out - it was a bit of a rage and so, I waited until the hype had died down so that I could just kick back and enjoy the movie. I got halfway through before I became sidetracked into studying for an exam.

As I owned the film now, I proceeded to watch it many many times all the way through over the coming years and recently, I replayed it yet again and I forgot really how much I enjoyed that film. It's a visually stunning movie with all the makings of a cult classic. From the atmosphere to the filmmaking techniques, from the story to the dialogue to the music score and back again. From start to finish, from beginning to end - The Wicker Man (1973) is one of those films that you watch and never forget. It is the making of one of the biggest films in horror cinema history - cults. From The Endless to Apostle to Midsommar and further on - cult movies have all been inspired by the 1973 classic The Wicker Man. It just proves how very important this movie is.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.