Geeks logo

A Filmmaker's Review: "Strangers on a Train" (1951)

5/5 - A suspense classic and a favourite of mine...

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

"Strangers on a Train" (1951) is one of my favourite movies ever. It contains some of the most intensely suspenseful scenes I have ever seen and the more I watch it, the more I understand how and why they are used. "Strangers on a Train" (1951) takes the concept that two people, who have no idea who each other are, could carry out murders on the other person's behalf - and between the two men in this picture - it almost works. Let's take a look at a historical background of me and "Strangers on a Train" (1951).

I first saw this film when it appeared on TV as a young teen. I was around 13 years' old and even though it was an old film, I was immediately hooked as I dropped in on the moment when 'Bruno' announces the plan to 'switch murders' so that the police can't find a motive. Now, I knew who Alfred Hitchcock was by this point, but I had no idea he was the one who directed this. (It would have actually made a lot of sense to me if I had known). "Strangers on a Train" (1951) became one of my favourite Hitchcock movies to watch and re-watch and re-watch and re-watch. There was one time when I watched it twice in one day just because I could. It's a brilliantly made film and over the course of 11 years I've probably seen it some fifty times. It has a quality to it that no matter where you are in the film, it will manage to hold and keep your complete and undivided attention, no matter how many times you've seen it as well.

When I re-watched it this time the only intention I had was watching it for NYE as I made my way through some of my favourite classic movies (such as this one, "Dial M for Murder" and even the noir "The Third Man"). I love watching old, classic movies and so, I seem to have amassed a library of them! "Strangers on a Train" (1951) though, is one that will always remain close to my heart as a masterclass in suspense and tension. The film is also an incredible lesson in timing and dialogue, if too much dialogue is spoken at one time, not only will this alleviate the tension (which we do not want) but it will also give away parts of the story that weren't meant to be told, but instead shown.

There are a number of symbols in this film. Some of them represent people and some represent things. For example: the lighter represents Guy, but the glasses represent characters like Miriam and Barbara. The classic use of this is to put the representation or symbol/item for one character into another character's hand and see what happens. This is exactly the case when Bruno has Guy's lighter and then there's the massive chase scene in which Guy tries to warn the police that he's being framed for murder.

All in all, this film is an amazing lesson, a great re-watch and one of Hitchcock's greatest mediums for suspense. I have to say, not a lot of people watch this one - preference comes for the horror/suspense films such as "The Birds" (1963) and "Psycho" (1960). But I implore you to give this one a chance because it is an absolute masterpiece and one of my favourite Hitchcock movies ever. I can honestly say that this probably won't be my last watch of the film, but the reason I write the review now is purely to usher in this New Year. I have always found this film absolutely delightful and a lot of fun to watch and I guarantee you that you will as well. It's just an amazingly clever film and whatever you think, you won't see coming. It truly is one of the greatest suspense/ psychological thriller films of all time. It is just purely incredible. So, if you've been watching Hitchcock's 60s horror films then I implore you to give this one a go, because not only will you see all the little details and signs that point us to the ending of the film, you will also be kept on the very edge of your seat and you will not be able to take your eyes off that screen. It's a brilliantly made masterpiece of cinema and I think that everyone should absolutely watch and re-watch it at least once in their lifetime.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.