Geeks logo

A Filmmaker's Guide to the Best Performances: Christian Bale

b. 30-01-1974

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1

Christian Bale is quite possibly one of the best and most versatile actors of his era. Going from the English pretty boy to becoming the American Psycho, Batman and even portraying Dick Cheney - Bale has gone from strength to strength which was probably the reason he won a Best Supporting Actor Academy Award for his role in "The Fighter" (2010).

In this article for his birthday, we're going to have a look at Christian Bale's greatest performances in film and how they've literally shaped the versatility we see in him today. Admittedly stating that his physical approach to acting has ruined his health, Bale is clearly very immersed in his career and it has earned him a very special place in our film hearts.

He's a brilliant actor with not only a ton of skill and charisma but the ability to literally play any role ever. So, without further ado - let's take a look at the top ten greatest film performances by Christian Bale. Also, these are purely opinion based, so these may not be your top ten - but they're definitely mine!

The Ten Greatest Films Performances by Christian Bale

10. Patrick Bateman in "American Psycho" (2000)

"I have all the characteristics of a human being: blood, flesh, skin, hair; but not a single, clear, identifiable emotion, except for greed and disgust. Something horrible is happening inside of me and I don't know why. My nightly bloodlust has overflown into my days. I feel lethal, on the verge of frenzy. I think my mask of sanity is about to slip." - Patrick Bateman, American Psycho (2000)

I think that this is certainly one of Bale's more powerful roles but is still not number one. It's a brilliant film and Christian Bale, being British and portraying the American Psycho, seems to do very well. With an incredibly convincing portrayal, it is said that Bale based parts of his character, especially the smile and laugh, on the American actor Tom Cruise. That's probably not the best compliment if there ever was one.

9. Michael Burry in "The Big Short" (2015)

"Banks have conditioned us to trust them and what have we got from that? Twenty-five percent interest rates on credit cards. They have screwed us on student loans so we can never get out from under." - Michael Burry, The Big Short (2015)

This is another one of Bale's stronger roles in which he does something both serious and satirical. I think that in these roles, he does his best. In "The Big Short" (2015) I do believe that Bale's portrayal of Michael Burry is not only the most watchable but also the most convincing character. It has a certain aspect of silly to it that, if it weren't there, would make the movie slightly boring. Christian Bale really lit up the movie.

8. John Preston in "Equilibrium" (2002)

"I'm alive -- I live -- to safeguard the continuity of this great society. To serve Libria." - John Preston, Equilibrium (2002)

I watched this when I was a little girl and it was a great movie back then as it is now. I think this film is really timeless because it shows us how dystopian sci-fi gets in the 21st century. We know we had dystopian sci-fi in the 20th century which pretty much looks like our own time now, but to do it successfully in the 21st century is a different thing. John Preston is an incredible character whom I always felt had aspects of Winston from Orwell's 1984 in him but then again, he's also got the opposite traits too - he is conflicted as a human is and is far more convincing this way. Bale again portrays the character in a vibrant and a compelling manner with a great amount of charisma so that we can really know Preston as a person.

7. Dick Cheney in "Vice" (2018)

"I can feel your recriminations and your judgment, and I am fine with that. You want to be loved, go be a movie star. The world is as you find it. You got to deal with that reality, and there are monsters in this world. We saw three thousand innocent people burned to death by those monsters. And yet, you object, when I refuse to kiss those monsters on the cheek and say, “Pretty please.” You answer me this, what terrorist attack would you have let go forward so you wouldn’t seem like a mean and nasty fella? I will not apologize for keeping your families safe. And I will not apologize for doing what needed to be done so that your loved ones can sleep peacefully at night. It has been my honor to be your servant. You chose me, and I did what you asked." - Dick Cheney, Vice (2018)

You could never say that you didn't find this portrayal of Dick Cheney absolutely hilarious and perfectly appropriate to the problematic politician. Anyways, I think Bale did such a great job both physically and mentally, both in his portrayal and in his reserve. I think that it was the perfect way to challenge him and he rose to that - he gave us the portrayal of a lifetime. It is clearly one of his most celebrated roles because of the amount he put into it. It was brilliant. You have to see it to believe it.

6. Trevor in "The Machinist" (2004)

"Right now I wanna sleep. I just want to sleep." - Trevor, The Machinist (2004)

I have seen this film a multitude of times and seriously, it is so damn good. Every time you watch it you seem to see a different aspect to this horrifying image of a character that Christian Bale has created. It is absolutely terrifying to see this descent into a slow and unrelenting madness. I want to watch it again just because it is so engrossing. It is a brilliant film and Bale's portrayal of Trevor is absolutely perfect to the point that I don't think anyone could've done the role better.

5. Batman/Bruce Wayne in "The Dark Knight Trilogy" (2005-2012)

"You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain, I can do those things, because I'm not a hero, unlike Dent, I killed those people, that's what I can be, I'm whatever Gotham needs me to be. You'll hunt me, you'll condemn me, set the dogs on me, because that's what needs to happen, because sometimes the truth isn't good enough, sometimes people deserve more, sometimes people deserve to have their faith rewarded." - Batman, The Dark Knight (2008)

There is no doubt about it, out of all the Batman actors there have been, none have been more realistic and immersive than Christian Bale. There is always a certain realism to Bale's acting that he brings to every single role and, with his keen eye for getting heart and soul into it - he pulls out a character so convincing you'd think he was totally real. Bale's acting skill goes so above and beyond in these films that eventually, he has become known as one of the greatest Batman actors of all-time.

4. Melvin Purvis in "Public Enemies" (2009)

"The only way that you will leave a jail cell is when we take you out to execute you." - Melvin Purvis, Public Enemies (2009)

I cannot tell you how much I enjoy re-watching this movie for no reason whatsoever than to see Christian Bale portray the famed Melvin Purvis. I love this film so damn much and I think that Bale's portrayal of Purvis really does lift the film and bring it into more of an action movie rather than just a crime/drama. I think Bale's role also, again, gives the film some realism as Bale has the character do things that he would've been doing on the job and acts in a way that Purvis would've acted in the hunt for John Dillinger. It is truly remarkable and so underrated.

3. Alfred Borden in "The Prestige" (2006)

"Now you're looking for the secret. But you won't find it because of course, you're not really looking. You don't really want to work it out. You want to be fooled" - Alfred Borden, The Prestige (2006)

Possibly one of my favourite roles by anyone in any movie ever. This is such an amazing experience to watch because Christian Bale really does do a great job of duplicity, portraying both Borden and Fallon. It's an amazing opportunity to showcase some of his amazing realist acting skills in a film about magic and he does it so damn well that I fail to see how this film doesn't get more recognition than it already does. It's one of Bale's top performances for a god damn reason.

2. Dicky Eklund in "The Fighter" (2010)

"I swear to God. I will quit if it means you'll come back, all right? But I want you to think about somethin'. Micky has a chance to do somethin' that I never did. That in my time I never had." - Dicky Eklund, The Fighter (2010)

This is the one that he won the Best Supporting Actor Academy Award for and he damn well deserved it. Again one of his most immersive roles, Christian Bale gave all physically and mentally to his portrayal of Dicky Eklund in this film. To be honest, it may not be his greatest performance but it is definitely one of his most critically acclaimed and so, yes, we had to put it higher than Alfred Borden and Batman for some reason. But the performance itself is a damn experience to watch - it is packed full of Bale's convincing character charisma and his sarcasm, wit, charm and perfect acting.

1. Jack Rollins in "I'm Not There" (2007)

"It's a fierce sort of feeling, thinking something is expected of you but you don't know exactly what it is. Brings forth a weird kind of guilt." - Jack Rollins in I'm Not There (2007)

Let's not pretend like you didn't know that this was going to be at number one. I absolutely loved Christian Bale in this movie and next to Cate Blanchett and Ben Whishaw, he's probably the next best actor in the film. I'm not going to lie, sometimes I just like to watch Bale's scenes isolated over and over again - it's like watching a man who is taking this role based on another man but entirely made up, incredibly seriously. It is like watching a version of Bob Dylan himself and Bale does it beautifully. He really does create a masterpiece.

list
1

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.