Geeks logo

A Filmmaker's Guide to: Leonardo DiCaprio

Film Studies (Pt. 148)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

In this chapter of ‘the filmmaker’s guide’ we’re actually going to be learning about literature and film together. I understand that many of you are sitting in university during difficult times and finding it increasingly hard to study and I understand that many of you who are not at university or not planning on it are possibly stuck of what to do, need a break or even need to catch up on learning film before you get to the next level. This guide will be brief but will also contain: new vocabulary, concepts and theories, films to watch and we will be exploring something taboo until now in the ‘filmmaker’s guide’ - academia (abyss opens). Each article will explore a different concept of film, philosophy, literature or bibliography/filmography etc. in order to give you something new to learn each time we see each other. You can use some of the words amongst family and friends to sound clever or you can get back to me (email in bio) and tell me how you’re doing. So, strap in and prepare for the filmmaker’s guide to film studies because it is going to be one wild ride.

Leonardo DiCaprio

Known as one of the Kings of Modern Cinema, Leonardo DiCaprio has pretty much perfected every kind of role from the romantic hero, to the gangster, to the biopic (historical figure) all the way down to the pensive outcast. He is a man of so many talents sometimes, it makes me want to cry at the sheer amount of range he has. You can never wrap your head around it - he's just that amazing. Born in the 1970s, DiCaprio has managed to change the very face of cinema and set up new challenges and goal posts for himself and his fellow actors. I feel like he is severely under-appreciated and so, I would like to take the time to go through some of his greatest and most challenging roles here.

As a man who changed what we know about cinema - here are the films that made his career as one of the greatest actors ever to walk the planet.

The greatest roles portrayed by Leonardo DiCaprio:

The Man in the Iron Mask (1998)

One of the films that I watched whilst I was at school. I had read the book to begin with and the film was available to rent and so I did. I watched it that same night on VHS Tape and returned it the next day. My life was changed as we know it. The film was an incredible portrayal of the book and I thought it was perfectly scripted for the situation.

Catch Me if you Can (2002)

One of my older brother's favourite films and one of the greatest films of the turn of the century, this film shows how good Leonardo DiCaprio can really be at playing a character that plays a million different characters. Frank Abagnale Jr. was a con man who was better than the FBI and Interpol put together. Leonardo DiCaprio's portrayal of him was better than most things you will see from that era. It was a brilliant, smooth and fluent play of a con man which seemed like it had been researched thoroughly and brilliantly.

Shutter Island (2010)

I watched this one for the first time when it came out and I was absolutely amazed at the way in which Leonardo DiCaprio could portray someone who is basically living out a fantasy. Again, so much research had gone into this role that if you did not know the ending, you could not possibly guess at it. I have seen this film over five times since and not a single minute has been wasted. It is one of the greatest performances of its decade.

Inception (2010)

Leonardo DiCaprio as the leader of a heist gang does not feel so out-there right now, but why don't you have Leonardo DiCaprio as the head of a heist gang in someone else's dream? Some levels down? I watched this film in the cinema on the day it came out and honestly, I have seen it so many times since it is hard to count. DiCaprio portrays his character with this tragic flaw that is almost Shakespearean. I love the way in which he becomes this man of troubled past that cannot let go. It is a catharsis and a confusion at the end only thanks to his acting. Pure brilliance.

J. Edgar (2011)

When I watched this I have to say I was astounded by DiCaprio's acting talent. I did. not think that his talent would reach this far but it did and he was brilliant in portraying a man who in public, knew who he was, but in private, had no idea. I was absolutely gobsmacked when I watched this film. Though I think it could have been directed better, I did feel as if the acting was absolutely spot-on. No other actor could have played a better J.Edgar Hoover. It was the performance of a lifetime.

Other Great Films in Which DiCaprio Stars:

  • The Wolf of Wall Street (2013)
  • Gangs of New York (2002)
  • The Revenant (2015)
  • Once Upon a Time (2019)

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.