Geeks logo

A Film Addict Reviews! Tag

A 2018 True Story Comedy

By Anakin ShawPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Normally, I am against films about true stories. They just don’t interest me as film addict. I enjoy my action, adventure, comedy and science fiction films, particularly from the 80s. In this case though, I did not realize this film was used on a true story considering how silly of a concept it is. After seeing the trailer, I knew it would be great watching Ed Helms, Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, and Jake Johnson in a film together.

2018’s Tag is about a group of friends; Hogan (Ed Helms), Chili (Jake Johnson), Callahan (Jon Hamm), Sable (Hannibal Buress), and Jerry (Jeremy Renner) that use tag to keep in touch for the past 30 years. Jerry, who has been untaggable for the past 30 years, is having a wedding and the group sees this as their opening to finally land a tag on him.

The Story

The story is well presented in this film. Considering this is based on a true story, you can’t really tell how much has been embellished or not but it does not seem to be. A lot of the tricks used by everyone but Jerry, or at least as far a I can tell, were actually done by the real people. The character introductions were well done as to they showed who the character was before we really got to know them. They chose to show everything instead of tell you what you need to know what is perfect screenwriting I would say.

The Acting

Considering who is in the cast, I’m sure one can infer that this is a comedy and it does not fail at that. Ed Helms, which most would probably know from The Hangover trilogy or The Office, was funny as usual. He was the one the film centered around and it payed off. Jon Hamm, which I would immediately know from Good Omens, was good too. Jon can play arrogant business man with charm pretty convincingly. He played as a pretty good counter to Jake Johnson. Jake Johnson, who’s claim to fame is New Girl and Into the Spiderverse, was probably my favorite part of this film. He plays his stereotypical has smart idiot persona and I do say he does it perfectly. Jeremy Renner, who we should all know as Hawkeye from Avengers, does a decent job at playing a pseudo villain friend type of character.

The Effects

Considering this is a film about playing tag with a bunch of friends, this isn’t a very special effects heavy film. I think the stunt work is good but I don’t think I have really too much to say on this portion.

The Cinematography

This portion has it moments in the film. A couple of the shots were really interesting. One is where there is a close up of Chili running down stairs and it moves with his body. I have always wondered how that effect was achieved. A good portion of the shots that were done were pretty simple, setup wise that is. The lighting was good for a comedy. Other than that, nothing really stands out too much in regards to framing and lighting.

Opinion and Verdict

Overall, the film was pretty fun to watch. It delivers on what it promises in the trailers and it honestly does not disappoint. The actors seemed like they all had fun being with each other and I think it makes for a better film. I would say that this a good film to watch if you need a pick me up at anytime. I’m sure a smile will be on your face the entire time you are watching.

If you like this review, please check out my last one: Overlord

review
Like

About the Creator

Anakin Shaw

I am a Film nerd and addict reviewing movies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.