Geeks logo

6 Best Ted Lasso Supporting Character Quotes

The best from the rest!

By Robyn ReischPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
If I could make this, I would! Find the pattern here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/913005001/ted-lasso-unofficial-parody-cross-stitch

Ted Lasso himself has an endless supply of quotes we should all be living by.

Be a goldfish. 

Be curious, not judgmental.

Don't let the wisdom of age be wasted on you.

However, this article is not about his considerable insight.

With an astounding twenty Emmy nominations - six of them for best supporting actor/actress - it's clear the rest of these characters deserve some love as well.

Here's the best life advice they have to offer:

"You used to run like you were angry at the grass. You'd kick that ball like you caught it fucking your wife, for Christ's sake. That anger doesn't come out anymore when you play...but it's still in there. I'm afraid of what it's going to do to you if you just keep it all for yourself."

- Nate Shelley, newly vocal and coming in with the realness

Nate's character arc is one of the most powerful of the season. Through Ted's mentorship, he builds confidence. Eventually, he even summons courage. In this scene Nate gives a voice to the powerful talent he's kept hidden inside. Even more compellingly, he goes to an emotionally vulnerable place with Roy Kent.

I got goosebumps.

Nate Shelley and Roy Kent

"I'm Roy Kent and I get paid to play a game but I'm angry all the time! Grrrr..."

- Keeley Jones poking the bear, fearless as always

This is my personal favorite quote from the show. Gratitude and happiness go hand in hand. Keeley uses her charming brand of comedy to point this out to Roy. He does have a lot to be thankful for. If he took stock of that, she seems to suggest, his whole attitude towards life might change. Look around you, she implores. Your life is a beautiful one. Live it.

Michelle Lasso

"You’re not quitting, Ted. You’re just letting me go."

- Michelle Lasso, breaking our hearts

This scene got me right in the tear ducts. Sometimes, unfortunately, hard work is not the answer. Acceptance is a healthy step in grieving the end of a relationship. Ted is not ready to let Michelle go, but he knows it's the right thing to do.

In an interesting and tender twist, fans will note that this poignant scene mirrors Jason Sudeikis' real life right now.

“So when I was 18, I dated a footballer that was 23. Now I’m close to 30 and I’m still dating a 23-year-old footballer. I’m Leonardo DiCaprio! They are pretty fun though. Simple, rich, fit.” 

“What about accountable?” 

“What do you mean?”

“Well, I mean, everyone makes mistakes, but... I was married to a man for twelve years, who never once took responsibility for any single one of them.”

- Rebecca Welton, passing on hard earned wisdom to Keeley Jones

Keeley and Rebecca's honest and mutually supportive friendship is a refreshing choice by the writers. Too often, strong women are pitted against one another on television. Building a healthy friendship between them is so much more rewarding to follow. Rebecca could watch Keeley and Jamie's dynamic with a spiteful sense of joy. Her decision not to is much more compelling.

Keeley Jones and Rebecca Welton

"It would change how I feel about you."

- Keeley Jones, sending that lesson right back

In this scene, Keeley demands that Rebecca hold herself accountable to Ted. When Rebecca points out that it won't change the outcome, Keeley comes back with this zinger. Everyone hates to be hit back by their own advice. We do need it though, don't we?

“Coach, I’m me. Why would I want to be anything else?”

- Jamie Tartt, on being Jamie Tartt

I'm not sure he realizes just how psychologically healthy that truly is...

If you haven't watched this show yet, I urge you to give it a shot. It's not about soccer. It's about life, integrity, growth, and human relationships.

I dare you not to love it.

quotes
1

About the Creator

Robyn Reisch

Robyn Reisch spends her days cooking, writing, and raising three gorgeous little hooligans. She is married to the world's greatest man.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.