Geeks logo

5 Novels that you should read…

No, not before your 30. Just read them, ok?

By The Mauve RosePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
5 Novels that you should read…
Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

I have a degree in English and what a waste of time that was. When I first decided that I wanted to pursue English as a degree it was because I fancied myself as a little bit of a writer. At 17, this is understandable. There is an invincibility that armours most 17 year olds into thinking that they will always meet their life goals and that all will end well.

Well, even if it doesn’t I do have a few suggestions of novels, that I reckon everyone should read, regardless of gender, creed, age or sexual orientation. We all need to read some of the most fabulous pieces of words strung together into a sentence. And no, there is no inclusion of Shakespeare in this list. Whilst, I do appreciate his raw genius, it’s a bit like ‘come on man, budge over just a little bit’, at times. ‘Shall I compare thee to a summers day’, may be one of my favourite quotes in literature, however, I want to remunerate over someone else for a change. Hence, why Shakespeare is not included in this list.

I will write my list without faff and without a star rating- why bother, the most important critics have already critiqued them.

1. Frankenstein- A novel by Mary Shelley

Man versus man. Man versus woman. Man versus creature. Man versus God. As the mother of Gothic literature, Mary Shelley created an absolute blinder of a novel with this diabolical story of witnessing man’s all consuming need to over-power women, be the dominant force of creation and architect of his own downfall. No one can better describe loss and pain than a bereaved mother. Masterpiece.

2. Pride and Prejudice- A novel by Jane Austen

‘You have bewitched me body and soul’. How we yearn to have the same strong convictions of Miss Elizabeth Bennett and be able to say no to an eligible bachelor! In a world of Jane’s, Lydia’s, Kitty’s and Caroline’s, dare to say ‘I don’t need a man’. Jane Austen- The original Spice Girl.

3. Wuthering Heights- A novel by Emily Bronte

What an awful novel. Awful. I honestly hate it with every fibre of my being. And that is why I love it. The protagonists Cathy and Heathcliff with their selfishness and horrendous behaviour towards others taught me what Romeo and Juliet failed to do- love does not need to result in so much suffering. It is your own ego that enables you to do so. While I hate this book, I will admit that some of my most favourite quotes come from this novel:

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger.”

― Emily Jane Brontë , Wuthering Heights

And not forgetting:

“My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Healthcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.”

― Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights

If you do not mind loathing the main characters then this is the book for you.

4. Two novels for the price of one: Albert Camus ‘The Stranger’ and J.D. Salinger ‘The Catcher in the Rye’.

Both are existentialist novels that will soothe all teenage anxiety about the meaning of life when you come to the realisation that life is what you make of it and not to become bogged down and become another cog in the machine.

5. Jane Eyre- A novel by Charlotte Bronte

There is something quite nice about reading the story of an average Jane who meets her own suitor. In rom-coms, we are subjected to witnessing beautiful actresses lament over how they cannot find a man. There is something quite refreshing about the normality of Jane Eyre (if you excuse the wife in the tower that is). If you want a ‘salt-of the earth’ love story then this is the novel for you. Enjoy.

And there you have it. A starter list to some of the most fascinating novels ever to be written. I will write no more about them. Read them. Embrace the heroes and heroines of these novels (or in some cases, the anti-heroes) and journey across tumultuous plains, barren lands, normal people with normal problems and enjoy authors who thought a tweet was a bird song.

The Mauve Rose

literature
1

About the Creator

The Mauve Rose

Lifestyle and Beauty blogger created by women for women

Our aim is to spread cheer, a few laughs, advice and some honest reviews ranging from weddings to moving house to book reviews.

If you are in need of some gentle laughs, welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.