Geeks logo

5 Marvel Women Who Don't Get Enough Attention

She Needed A Hero So That Is What She Became

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - March 2021
52
Collage Created Through Canva

Before the pandemic hit, San Diego was the leading city of all things Comic-Con; fans near and far would flood Downtown San Diego to showcase their devotion to all thing's comics. From people dressing up as their superheroes to A-List celebrities starting their press runs on the next blockbuster Marvel film, it's a world I didn't understand and found somewhat intimidating. The closest thing I've seen to a comic were the ones in the newspaper.

Every Sunday, my favorite uncle, may he rest in peace, would buy the paper because of his love for his beloved Lakers, stats on the local high school sports, coupons, and lastly, the comics. Every once in a while, he would give me that section of the newspaper. I never mentioned to him that I had a love for comics; he just assumed. He also would give a brief back story on what these comics were about now that he'd crossed over; I wish I had paid more attention. As a young girl, that world never interested me, but I enjoyed the illustrations and how the artist and author could use eight boxes to tell a story.

Over the past couple of years, Marvel has done an excellent job catering to comic lovers and introducing that world to newbies like myself. I've watched Iron Man, Thor, The Avengers, and Black Panther, but I care because I love a kickass movie, and also, I still have the desire from time-to-time to have superpowers of my own. I tend to live vicariously through these characters. This past weekend, I binge-watched WandaVistion and enjoyed it; these characters' backstories are intriguing to me. At times, I found myself Googling while watching the movie just to be involved in the conversation. Although I'm not confident enough to roam the streets in my superhero costume, I will enjoy these characters from the comfort of my home until I've mastered this unique world.

After watching a handful of movies, tons of Googling, and message boards on everything Marvel, I noticed a pattern. I quickly asked, "where are the women superheroes" now, before you yell at me through the screen, I am aware that women super (she)ros exist. Still, with comics having such rich history, I wasn't satisfied with seeing only a selective few women showing up as "backup" and not so much the leader in charge. I've never labeled myself as a feminist, but over the last couple of years, the motto amongst the Hollywood elite has always said "representation matters." I entrusted my BFF Google to locate the five most underrated female Marvel characters that need more love.

Disclaimer: This list is from several resources. I don't claim to be an expert. I would ask that you give me some slack. I'm still a rookie at this.

The Star Dancer

Photo From marvunapp

She was born to aliens Zhalla'Klans, who have a history of being cosmically powered aliens who can possess cosmic energy, which they can manipulate. Recognizing her superpowers, she embraced her passion for dance which she spent years perfecting. After deciding to separate herself from her family, she decided to explore her way through space. After spending centuries through space, she adhered to a new journey to make it back home to her family. While on her trip home, she found the love of her life, Elton Morrow, known as Blue Diamond.

Strengths

  • Superhuman Strength- Can lift 70 tons without breaking a sweat
  • Superhuman Durability- Can take hits from anyone without bruising
  • Superhuman Agility- Her ballerina skills come in handy with the ability to dodge anything thrown her way

Karnilla

From Website cmro.travis-starnes

Queen of Nornheim, Sorceress to be exact, remains a mystery. Her birthplace is located in Nornheim, a dimension of Asgard, where the Three Norns, the goddesses of destiny, could be found. Karnilla has been crowned the most accomplished arts practitioner, which is located in the Asgardian dimension. Her love interest is Asgard's Balder the brave.

Strengths

  • Immune to diseases
  • Asgardian flesh and bones are three times denser than earthly meat and bones
  • Metabolism gives her more excellent immunity than human endurance
  • Cast spells with a variety of specific effects
  • Illusion casting
  • Temporary paralysis or sleep
  • Deflection of oncoming matter and energy
  • Interdimensional teleportation and elemental conversion.

Thundra

From Pinterest

She is from Earth Femizonia, which is ruled by an Amazon-like female who conquered and enslaved all-male populations. She's been labeled the formidable warrior and was recruited by the Frightful Four and battled the Fantastic Four. She was married under Polemachian law (possibly divorced since).

Strengths

  • Superhuman strength
  • Resistance to physical injury
  • Military combat training
  • the skilled combatant with a sword or her three-foot linked chain
  • Lift 60 tons

Zarda

Photo From Marvel Fandom

Let's call her a knock-off of DC Wonder Woman; she lived on a small island located in the southern sea, Utopia Isle; it's been untouched by outside civilization. She was apart of the World War II team Golden Agency as the sole emissary. She had a common-law marriage to sailor Howard Shelton whom she met during the war. During their union, Zarda didn't know age (because of her immortality), but Howard did. She managed to get noticed by the United States federal government and stole Clair Debussy's identity, with whom she murdered.

Strengths

  • She can lift 80 tons
  • Has speed and reflexes
  • Deflect most small-caliber artillery, explosives, fires, electricity, and physical damage
  • Her genes give her immortality
  • Immune to disease and illnesses

Nicholette Gold

From Pinterest

Mercury is her birthplace of the 31st century; her parents died at a young age; she was later discovered by Guardians of the Galaxy soon. Soon after, she traveled to the present to help the Guardians fight Korvac. After battling Hammer and Anvil, alongside the Guardians, to find the lost shield of Captain America. She gained a romantic interest with Charlie-27, which didn't last as long as she wanted. She later fell in love with Guardian recruits Firelord and Talon.

Strengths

  • Ability to see in intense light
  • She has a high degree of resistance to heat and most types of radiation.
  • Hair made of fire, and she could potentially burn someone just by touching someone with any part of her body. She would often take complete water baths to cool her body temperature.

These women are just as powerful and worthy of a blockbuster film as the others. Leaders or kickass sidekicks, no matter the environment or storyline, these women need a franchise of their own.

******************************************************************

References

Marvel Fandom

Pinterest

Marvunap

CMRO

Marvel Directory

Wikipedia

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated.

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

superheroes
52

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.